Good Eats

Eric at A Pound of Thoughts has tagged me in a food meme:

1. Add a direct link to your post below the name of the person who tagged you. Include the city/state and country you’re in.

Nicole (Sydney, Australia)
velverse(Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)
LB(San Giovanni in Marignano, Italy)
Selba (Jakarta, Indonesia)
Olivia (London, England)
ML (Utah, USA)
Lotus (Toronto, Canada)
tanabata(Saitama, Japan)
Andi(Dallas [ish], Texas, United States)
Todd (Louisville, Kentucky, United States)
miss kendra(los angeles, california, u.s.a)
Jiggs Casey (Berkeley, CA, USA! USA! USA!)
Tits McGee (New England, USA)
Joe (NE Tennessee, USA)
10K Monkeys (Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA)
Big Stupid Tommy (Athens, Tennessee, USA)
Newscoma(Weakley County, Tennessee, USA)

Eric (George County, Mississippi, USA)

And now me: Slartibartfast (Nashville, TN, USA)

2. List out your top 5 favorite places to eat at your location.

Funny, you’ll never be able to tell from this list that I’ve lost 40 lbs this year.  I’m like Bill Clinton at Deja Vu.  Nevertheless, as you’ll soon find out, we’re a very CASUAL family.  No four-star restaurants for us.  The list:

1. Monell’s – If you want to know what Sunday dinner was like at my house growing up, this is the place.  Family style dining (always pass to the left, please), vegetables and sides cooked in true southern fashion.  It’s slowly becoming a chain, but Monell’s will always be in Germantown to me.  Their fried chicken is the closest I’ve ever had to my mom’s (and that includes my own).  If you ever get a chance to go to their 4th of July celebration, do it!  Incredible ribs and chicken, walking to the Jefferson Street Bridge to view the fireworks, followed by dessert and dancing.  I love this place.

2. Calypso Cafe – 5 words: BBQ Chicken Black Bean Nachos. OMG, heaven!  There are several locations in Nashville now (one in Belle Meade near me).  Good Caribbean fare; lots of jerk chicken dishes, which are all very good.  Very affordable and casual.  Good Key lime pie.

3. U.S.Border Cantina – OK, food snobs are going to let me have it for this.  Yes, it’s not as authentic as those places on Nolensville Road, it’s, gasp! Americanised Mexican food.  Well, guess what, I’m American.  So, it appeals to me.  Other Nashvillians might choose Las Palmas because they are so popular here in Nashville, but you just can’t beat the quick service and varied menu at U.S. Border, especially the Bellevue location.  There is a wide variety of vegetarian dishes (although they are by no means vegan). And they have figured out southern sweet tea, their tea can be topped only by that of the Rendezvous in Memphis.  Try the spicy burrito, they’re not kidding, it’s spicy!

4. Loveless Cafe – OK, an easy one.  I ate here way back when it was a hole in the wall cafe in front of a real, working, fleabag motel.  Their ham and biscuits are legendary, and although they’ve gotten kind of uppity lately, they are still the best in town at good old fashioned country breakfast.  What most people don’t know is that their dinner is very good as well.  Standard southern fare (country ham, fried chicken and pork chops), and sides cooked in pork fat (yum!).

5. Bobbie’s Dairy Dip – We’ve eaten all this wonderful food, now it’s time for dessert!  It’s a true dairy dip, so it’s a stretch to call this a restaurant, but they have a few picnic tables around the side.  The soft serve ice cream (especially chocolate dipped) is simply the best you can have.  Sweet and rich, eat it fast before it melts!  They also have lots of fast, junky food that is very good: the hamburgers are excellent, hot dogs, fries, and the like; they are like a much better Sonic.  There’s nostalgia at this place as well: I see the young couples on dates, and it’s neat to remember that I took several dates here in the 80’s and my dad brought my mom here when they were dating as well.

Funny thing is, there are about 10 more I could easily name. No wonder I have a problem with my weight.

So there you have it.  The very sophisticated Kat Coble was also tagged by Eric, so maybe she could provide a few fancier restaurants in Nashville.  Lintilla and I have always been ultra casual; our wedding reception was a hamburger cookout.

 Everybody I know is in Nashville, except for people who have already responded to the meme.  The only people I’m dying to tag are Vol Abroad,  and Lavender Sparkly Amy .  Pregnant women, huh? (one of them due any minute).  When you have time, ladies.

Posted in Food, Memes. 9 Comments »

9 Responses to “Good Eats”

  1. badbadivy Says:

    We love Calypso Cafe too. I really am happy that it’s not your standard chicken nuggets and fries kid fare that is the norm.

  2. Nicole Says:

    Calypso Cafe and their BBQ Chicken Black Bean Nachos is making me real hungry now!!!I really want to taste that now..sound so unique.. and Bobbie’s Dairy Dip sound like a very traditional sort of place….would go there if me around there

    Ps thanks for doing the tag. I hope you enjoyed it.. If you know of anyone else doing it please feel free to send me a message and I’ll update them too on the updated list of tag doers

  3. velverse Says:

    I am hungry for some food in Loveless Cafe. However the Cafe name is pretty much sad. Then again, nothing a good piece of ham can’t fix.

    Oh yeah… dessert. Sounds delicious and yummy for me. I love sweet stuff.

    Thanks for playing along! FYI :), Vol Abroad already did the meme. 🙂 You could visit my list/ Nicole’s list to view it 😀

  4. Eric Says:

    Ooooh….Calypso Cafe sounds really delicious. Next time I’m in Nashville, I’ll try to go there!

  5. newscoma Says:

    Biscuits from the Loveless …
    **drool**

  6. Susie Says:

    At the risk of sounding like an idiot…why do they call it a “meme”?

  7. Slartibartfast Says:

    Susie, the short answer is, I don’t know. The word comes from Richard Dawkins and has something to do with evolutionary science, but I have no idea why they use it when creating pass-down-the-line blog lists.

  8. amy Says:

    thanks for the tag…I’m ashamed to say I have no idea where to eat in Nashville though!! your list gives me some good ideas. hubby and I just hardly ever eat out, and when we do it’s often just a chain like Qdoba.

  9. Going Out To Eat With The Kids: Where Do You Go? - Shakadoo Says:

    […] a pal of mine’s blog who was writing about some of his fave Nashville restaurants, and he wrote about Calypso Cafe. I’ll let you go read what he wrote about it, it’s a better description than I am […]


Leave a comment