The Other Parents Are Just Happy It’s Happening at MY House

I wish I could tell you what’s happening at my house this weekend.  In fact, I had a whole post written about it, when I realized that the key words in the post would draw all kinds of hits from people  who are looking for something entirely different than a dad talking about his daughter’s 11th birthday.

Let’s just say that Trillian is having a bunch of friends over for a sleepover, and they’ll be, in effect, reenacting a Three Stooges pie fight. 

Trillian works hard all year.  She gets straight A-s and is a Duke Tip Scholar.  She does her chores without hesitating or whining.  She helps out at church without being asked half the time.

If she wants to cut loose and have a pie fight with her friends, well, she shall have one.   Do they sell cases of Redi-Whip at Costco?

Yes, the other parents know this is going to happen.  No, I have no idea how long it’ll take me to clean it all up.

Trillian ALWAYS asks for the unexpected on birthdays or Christmas.  No skate party or iPod for her.  Instead, my house is going to be hosting a little messy mayhem.

I’m not crazy – if it’s 45 degrees or above, they’ll do it outside.  If it’s below: in the garage.  But still, we have the spectre of 5 wet and sticky girls waiting their turn to get cleaned up.  No, I’m not going to hose them down outside, it’s too cold.

Zaphod is hoping I’ll just take him out of the house during all of this.  I told him that if this were occurring 3 or 4 years from now, his perspective would be totally different.  😉

Regardless, I might need prayer 🙂  I’ll let you know how it all goes.

2 Responses to “The Other Parents Are Just Happy It’s Happening at MY House”

  1. Susie Says:

    You are such wonderful parents…make sure they are wearing goggles or do not get it in their eyes…believe me, it is not fun, it hurts! (I have experience in this subject, lol)

  2. Warrior Says:

    The wife give a good idea….plastic drop cloths, lots and lots of plastic drop cloths! Also, how did you word THAT invitation?


Leave a Reply

