Feel Good Friday, Lunar Edition

I wore out the cassette* of Regatta De Blanc in high school.  This is a strange song, but it makes me strangely nostalgic.

I wonder if they filmed this video in Huntsville during their “touring the US in a van” period?  It sure looks like the Space and Rocket Center.

Giant steps are what you take, walking on the moon.  I hope my leg don’t break, walking on the moon.

*Kiddos, cassettes were a “portable” audio medium, where the audio was stored on magnetic tape.  Just like LPs, cassettes had two “sides”.  This was an improvement over 8-tracks, which had four “tracks”, sometimes resulting in songs being split in two.

Posted in Music. 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Feel Good Friday, Lunar Edition”

  1. Katherine Coble Says:

    Do you know what would make me feel good? Running over Gordon Sumner with a lawnmower.

    Don’t get me wrong—I have nothing against your FGF pick. It’s one of the better Police ditties out there. I practically lived on the Police for several years of my life.

    But I still can’t help thinking that Gordon Sumner is about the most pretentious gob of carbon out there. He beat out Bob Geldof right about the time he started talking about his tantric sex thing.

  2. Slartibartfast Says:

    Do you know what would make me feel good? Running over Gordon Sumner with a lawnmower.

    Kat wins the internet. I’m still laughing reading it again.

    I was always able to overlook Mr Sumner’s pretentiousness because I always assumed that all rock stars worth their salt are that way. I’ve since learned that there are some real human beings out there, but that was much later.

    The Police were always Copeland’s band, anyway. I started listening to them for the angst of Outlandos D’Amour, and got hooked once the quirky Regatta De Blanc came out.

    The band became Stang’s (that’s how we say it in the south) on Synchronicity, and at that point they became overblown blowhards.

    But, to this day, I still like Andy Summers’ guitar playing. It’s just so weird – NOBODY plays quite like him.


Leave a Reply

