Done

I’ve been pretty much obsessing over hurricane Gustav, a little bit because I’m a hurricane geek, but mostly because my parents live just outside Pensacola.  I’ve had about 5 different moments of terror today, as the outer bands on Gustav spawned tornadoes in the Pensacola area.

I just got off the phone with my mom, and everything is OK in their neck of the panhandle.  They got some strong winds, and rain, but the worst appears to be over.  I’m still a little angry with my folks and my brother for not going a little inland for at least a day, but they are all grownups, and took a vote as a family and decided to stay.

All of this means I’m a little on edge , so I hope you give me a little latitude.

I want to say something about politics real quickly, but fear not; this is the last post I’ll make about the subject for a while, and hopefully in a minute you’ll understand why.

Of course, all of us can see the inhumanity in Michael Moore’s comments.  (Still anxious to see him in the public eye, Mack?)  Speaking for my family, Michael Moore can kiss my ample ass.

This is what hyper-partisanship does to us.  Somehow, when we give ourselves to one “team” or the other, and do so vigorously, we lose a little piece of our ability to see our “enemies” as human beings.  We get lost.

I’ll be the first to say that I’m just as susceptible to it and anyone else.  But, make no mistake, it is an evil.  For all the wonderful things our political system has done for the world, the ugliness that comes from hyper-partisanship is not one of them.

If we can all wag our fingers at Moore, can we turn that judgement to ourselves?  Do we make snide comments about our opponents, always angling for how we can help “our side” regardless of the subject?

I’ve seen some things written about Sarah Palin since Friday; things said by people I generally respect for their decency.  Palin’s experience IS a valid issue, but some snarky, mean-spirited  (and downright elitist) things have been said in support of those arguments.

But to use the situation with Palin’s daughter to score cheap little political points?

Have you no decency?

Let me tell you something.  My mother, the sweet old lady I’ve been stressing about all day,  was younger than Palin’s daughter when my family was founded, and under similar circumstances, from what we kids can tell.  So, since I’ve spoken in the past against creating a society that fosters teen parenthood (has it ever occurred to you that some of us have these views because we know a little something about the subject?) , by all means, use my dear old mother to make your political points.  It’s all fair game, right?  Maybe some more strident blogs can throw out pejoratives and make crude jokes about her. 

By all means, use my mother to make your damned petty little points.  I hope they make you feel smug and satisfied.

Oh, and while you’re at it, accept my heartfelt F*** you.

Let’s quit wasting each other’s time.  I’m voting for McCain.  I’m not going to change my mind, as far as I can tell.  You have made up your mind, too.  The undecided folks aren’t reading this blog, and THEY’RE NOT READING YOURS EITHER!  Obama is not going to win Tennessee.  Unless you live in Florida, Pennsylvania, or Ohio, your state is pretty much decided one way or the other.

So why are we sniping back and forth, acting like a**holes?  To what end?  The sport of it?

I’m done talking politics.  I’d like my humanity back, please.  And I pray you regain yours, as well.

16 Responses to “Done”

  1. bridgett Says:

    Uh, I came over here to ask you about your mom and dad and to wish you all well. But I’ll stay to be yelled at if it makes you feel better.

  2. dolphin Says:

    I’m surprised Michael Moore’s comments are getting so much attention frankly. There was nary a peep when Focus on the Family was asking it’s members to pray for “torrential rain” “of Biblical proportions” on the Democratic Convention. A major right-wing organization begs God for a natural disaster during a political convention, then when they get what they prayed for (albeit during the wrong convention and wrong location) and it’s Michael Moore’s fault.

    And I don’t live in FL, PA, or OH, but my state is hardly decided one way or the other. VA, at my most recent check, is in fact that only state showing an actual dead heat. Not a statistical dead heat, and actual perfect 45%/45% dead heat.

  3. Mack Says:

    Slarti, I’m not really enjoying watching you have your meltdown. It should be fun. This is…I don’t know…uncomfortable.

  4. Ford Prefect Says:

    M. Moore is getting the attention because he is a prick with an ego larger that the Empire State building. His comments are stupid, and only someone with no heart beating in his chest would make these and so many other comments he has become known for over the years. But hey some people are stupid enough to buy his books and read his blogs so I guess he’s playing the game correctly.

    If Focus On The Family actually said what is quoted above they are equally stupid in my eyes and maybe worse than M Moore. Moore makes no pretence that he does what he does to make $$$ and tick people off. Focus on the Family being a Christian organization should be ashamed at the mis-use of God that they are trying to pull off.

    Thankfully God is Bigger, Stronger, and Smarter than these fools and his will – will be done.

  5. Eric Says:

    Slarti,

    Nice post. I’m glad your parents are okay. We here in SE Mississippi are okay, too. 😀

    I agree with you 100% about the left’s comments lately. Not only Michael Moore, but Don Fowler – former head of the DNC saying “God is on our side” and laughing at New Orleans getting slammed.

  6. dolphin Says:

    I agree with you 100% about the left’s comments lately.

    This is the problems with all these cries for ending bitter partisanship. Your post and this comment come off sounding like this: ‘We need to get away from bitter partisanship, you know the kind those evil SOBs on the left engage in.’

    Hate to break it to you but the solution to bitter partisanship isn’t MORE bitter partisanship.

  7. Katherine Coble Says:

    Maybe I don’t miss as much as I think when I’m in the hospital. I certainly don’t miss politics.

    I do wonder, though, about what the specific deal is with you thinking that everything is about your mother. This is the second post in about as many weeks wherein you extrapolate a slur on your mother from an oblique event not directly related to your family.

    I’m trying to wrap my mind around why exactly that is.

    While I generally find most of his attention-getting speeches repugnant I highly doubt Michael Moore intended to slander your mother–just as I didn’t intend any offence against her when commenting about the negative experiences I’ve had with many native Southerners.

  8. Eric Says:

    Uh – dolphin? That’s because it’s the left that’s engaging in bitter, idiotic comments like what Michael Moore and Don Fowler recently said…

    I’m not being bitter, I’m just stating facts…

    Ugh. I’ll be glad when this election is over…

  9. nm Says:

    Right, it’s the left. Just the left. Uh-huh. Got that.

  10. dolphin Says:

    Gotta love it when somebody steps up an proves your point better than you ever could on your own.

  11. Eric Says:

    nm, dolphin,

    I appreciate your comments, but I need to say one more thing…I never said it was just the left. I was talking about the latest comments from the left: i.e. Michael Moore and Don Fowler. I wasn’t talking about anyone else.

    There are some people on the far right, also, that make stupid and bitter comments – ones that I don’t subscribe to (i.e. Ann Coulter, Pat Robertson, etc.) I wish they would just shut up sometimes because they give some of us that are rational thinkers a bad name. I will never deny that there aren’t those kind of people, also.

    So please don’t go putting words in my mouth and trying to say I’m bitter when I’m not. It just proves the hyper-partisanship that Slarti is talking about in his post.

    Thanks in advance.

  12. dolphin Says:

    Eric,

    You’re a liar.

    You said that you only complain about the left because they are the ones who are doing it. Either you meant that they are the ONLY ones and you’ve invalidated your following statement. Or you meant they are among many others, and you’ve invalidated your proceeding statement. Either way, you are contradicting yourself. That’s lying. Period.

    Nobody has put words in your mouth. You said what you said and it’s your own immaturity to blame if you won’t own up to them.

  13. Eric Says:

    Don’t you love it when you prove someone wrong, and they can’t think of anything else to say, they resort to name-calling?

    Dolphin, like I said, I respect your opinion, but I have not contradicted myself. If you can’t understand that I was talking about the stupid, idiotic, hateful comments from Michael Moore and Don Fowler then I can’t help you.

    And I’m being immature? I haven’t called anyone a liar, sir. Now do you have anything new to say, or are you going to start calling me something else?

  14. dolphin Says:

    Fine, Eric.

    You know what you wrote, I know what you wrote. If you chose to pretend that people can’t just scroll up and read for themselves, that’s fine by me. Whatever helps you sleep at night.

  15. dolphin Says:

    Though, I have to admit, It explains alot for a McCain/Palin supporter to admit he thinks referring to an obvious non-truth as a lie is immature. I guess if one thinks that lying is ok, McCain/Palin would be the perfect choice for office.


Leave a Reply

