Finally Made The Jump

Y’all know I have a love/hate relationship with WalMart.  On the one hand, I have no problem with the idea of WalMart.  In fact, whenever some crank starts railing into the company, I defend them all the more vigorously.  WalMart, and their lower prices, is probably the only thing keeping some people afloat right now.

Then there’s the other side.  I HATE going to WalMart.  I have nicknamed the place “The Valley of the Shadow of Death”.  I can think of few places where the shopping experience is more miserable.  The two exceptions I have found (we’ve been to every WalMart in North America) are the one in Cool Springs, and the one in Destin, FL.  And trust me, you do NOT want to go to the one in Destin on a Saturday afternoon when all the condo people are stocking up on chips and beer.  But that’s not WalMart’s fault.

Where was I?  O yeah.  There’s another, more important reason I hate going to WalMart. 

It’s more expensive.

That’s right, I said it.  I’ve got the receipts to prove it.

Now, on a per-item basis, WalMart is cheaper.  However, in practice, one always ends up spending more than they meant to, especially if one is there to get groceries.  It’s the nature of of the “superstore”.  I go to get groceries, and my “list” may have $75 worth of food on it, but somehow, every time, I walk out of there having spent $150.  This is the sort of thing that happens when you have borderline ADD.  Look!  Something shiny!

On a smaller scale, the same thing happens at traditional grocery stores.  I always spend $20-50 more than I meant to.  Well, I can’t do that anymore – I’m on a mission.

So, in the strangest of cost-cutting moves, something that is completely counter-intuitive even now when I think about it, I ordered this week’s groceries from Plumgood Foods.  I know – you’ve looked there before, and everything seemed so darned expensive, you closed your browser and headed down to Kroger.

But, upon analyzing it, I discovered that it is indeed, for me in practice, cheaper to have my groceries delivered.

A lot had to happen before it was a good idea to me.  Plumgood now has more than just trendy urban hippie food, they have what they call “mainstream” items.  Plus, they do have locally grown vegetables that are pretty much the same price as the grocery (I’m not close enough to Farmer’s Market to hop by there every afternoon).  Also, Plumgood no longer has a charge for delivery.  And they deliver on Saturdays.

I had a list, and I stuck to it.  And my week’s grocery bill is $84 with tax.  That’s about half what I normally spend at WalMart or Kroger.  With a family of four (and two males who eat like they are about to go into hibernation), that’s pretty darned good, and delivered to boot.  And I will be getting only what I need; hopefully there will be less wasted food.

It’s not perfect.  I didn’t like their bread choices, and I’ll have to stop by the day-old bread store on the way home today to get things like hoagie buns and white bread.  They didn’t have Life cereal.  And to be honest, I didn’t need to buy much meat because I’ve got a lot stocked up.  And I’ll still be getting things like paper towels at Costco (I’ll send my non-impulsive wife).

I’ll let y’all know Monday how the delivery goes.  Right now, I’m pretty excited.

I wonder if this would work for clothes, too?  Since we’re, er, getting older, we find Land’s End to be pretty hip and stylish.  If we were to start solely ordering clothes from there, just what we need, without traipsing to WalMart or a mall where we would no doubt buy all kinds of things we didn’t come for, maybe we’ll come out ahead there, too.

I must investigate.

Posted in Food. 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “Finally Made The Jump”

  1. Susie Says:

    If your kids are anything like mine always have been, they are the extra expense at stores…Mom, can I have this…and this…and this? LOL

  2. Warrior Says:

    Susie…that’s why Barbara doesn’t take me shopping!
    Slarti….We’ve been doing Plumgood for a while, and it is great!

  3. bridgett Says:

    Yep, on-line on sale clothing saves you both hassle and money. We’re L.L. Bean people (or were, until just recently…their quality has gone down from fabulous to just average over the last two or three years, making the slight price differential no longer worth it to us). I go to the mall about once a year.

    I’ve thought about delivered groceries (I have friends with disabilities that swear by delivery service), but our choices up here are not so good. I’m eager to hear how your experience works out.


Leave a Reply

