A Most Amazing Journey

Since I’m one of maybe 40 people who watch CBS Sunday Morning, I felt I needed to pass this along to you.

I have always been a huge fan of Journey, and as I have aged, my love for them has only grown. They have been the victims of much music snobbery over the years, most of it quite unfair. These are top-notch songrwriters and musicians who understand phrasing and narrative. Yes, they are catchy pop tunes. But not every great opus has to be sung in a manner that makes the singer sound like he’s coming off a three-day bout of constipation, with morbid lyrics and morose chord progressions.

And, this new version of Journey?

Watch this till the end – it’s an amazing story.

If I can’t have them with Steve Perry, I’ll take them with Arnel Pinetta. I will run out and buy this CD this weekend.
 

Posted in Music. 5 Comments »

5 Responses to “A Most Amazing Journey”

  1. Susie Says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this…I have always been the hugest fan of Journey, and never thought I would ever listen to them again without Steve Perry, but this has definitely changed my mind…what an incredible story!

  2. ford prefect Says:

    I picked up the new stuff this morning to listen to on vacation. It is only available at Wal-Mart and it is a 3 disk pack. One CD of new material, a cd Greatest hits package with Arnel on vocals and an “In Concert” DVD of the new line-up. All for a whopping $11.98.

  3. sista Says:

    Well, I’m one of the 40 people. I record it every Sunday. That new guy with Journey is precious. I loved the piece they did a few weeks ago on Karen Allen, too. I just love that show!

  4. Debbie Says:

    Wow! I didn’t think that a story about a rock band was going to make me cry. What a neat story. Love it!

  5. Tara Says:

    Well, I’ve been a lurker since finding your blog while googling “Harding Academy Athletic Fields”. Yeah…so much for sleeping in on a Saturday morning. :-p

    However, I found that we have 2 things in common: we’re not crazy about the LOUD noise that has been a constant for several weeks now, and a serious love for JOURNEY! 🙂 I just hate that I’m not going to be here when they come through Nashville in August for their tour! Sad times!

    And many prayers go out to you and your wife during this time!

    Blessings!


Leave a Reply

