I’m Sane Now, Butt It Hurts

I realize it was awfully, awfully rude for me not to check back with you guys sooner, but I took a little sanity break, and then life decided that I hadn’t had my butt kicked in a while, so it obliged.

My children both went through growth spurts recently, each crossed the 5 feet tall mark, and it has really hit me hard.  Two thirds of the time they’ll be under my care … is gone.  I’ve been “here”, but at the same time I feel as if I’ve missed it, being so focused on other things.  I am in somewhat of a panic and trying to refocus my life so I don’t miss these last, important years.

I recently took a really nice fall down the steps.  My feet came out from under me, and I bounced on my butt down several steps.  I busted my tailbone up pretty good.  The X-rays were inconclusive.  For all you 10 year old boys out there, apparently being a DES baby meant that I have,amongst all the other weird body oddities I have, a tiny coccyx.  [Insert giggle here…].  But, size doesn’t matter…

So, the x-rays had to be sent away, because the urgent care facility didn’t quite know what they were looking at.  But, I have some nice drugs.  It only hurts today when I go from sitting to standing.  But man, oh man, does it hurt!

For those of you who I speak to regularly in person, I’ve been asked not to blog about “that other thing” until we know more.  Should be within the next couple of days, I hope.

For the rest of you, “that other thing”  sounds ominous, I know.  All I can say is that it COULD be a huge, scary thing, or it could be a small thing.  We’ll see.

Sorry I was away for too long – I’ll try to do better in the coming weeks.

6 Responses to “I’m Sane Now, Butt It Hurts”

  1. GingerSnaps Says:

    So glad you’re back on…

    Amanda is almost 5′ tall and she’s turning 8 this week…I understand your “crisis” of mind with that…speaking of which…perhaps this is your personal midlife crisis! Cool…the perfect reason to go buy a red sports car! 😉

    Hang in there.

    *hugs*

  2. nm Says:

    I did that same kind of bouncing down the stairs thing once. I will say that the bruising was spectacular, but otherwise it had nothing to recommend it. Glad the damage was slight, and hope the other thing is small enough to remain a mystery forever.

  3. x117236 Says:

    I’ll refrain from any butt jokes. And I’ll sit and wonder about the “other thing” Glad you’re back. ; )

  4. dolphin Says:

    Good to have you back. Here’s hoping the other thing is a small one.

  5. Susie Says:

    Enjoy them now, because the old saying is when you have a teenager it is payback for having sex…lol…butt…oops…but, on a different note…I am praying about the “other thing”, and thank you for blogging!!! I missed your blog so much!

  6. bridgett Says:

    Owie, dang! I broke my tailbone as a kid and it still hurts from time to time. “Other things” sound potentially difficult. But you have the One Thing on your side.

    And the kids…yes, Lord, they grow up quickly. Kid is nine and taller than her granny. No time spent loving them is wasted.


Leave a Reply

