Kiss My Grits

When I was growing up, on those wonderful “big breakfast Sundays”, we’d have bacon and sausage and white gravy, and eggs over-medium, and my mom’s world famous biscuits.  The biscuits where there for three reasons:

1. They were incredible on their own.

2. They were necessary for sopping up the yolks of the eggs.

3.  “Dessert” was a biscuit topped with gravy.

 Did I tell you we had three teenage boys at one time?

Anyway, another thing we had on big breakfast Sundays was grits.  Mom would give us our individual servings, then each of us would proceed to sprinkle sugar over it.

I didn’t know this was weird for around here till I grew up.  Most Nashvillians, it would seem, go for the pat of butter with salt & pepper treatment for grits.  But, try as I may to fit in, I cannot have grits without sugar.

How did a family growing up in Nashville develop such a regionally uncharacteristic food habit?  I think it’s due to the fact that my grandparents were from other states (Alabama and Missouri).  I THINK sugar on grits is an Alabama thing, but I’m not sure.

Perhaps some enterprising food anthropologist can do some research on grits preparation and how it varies in the different sub-regions of the south.

So, how do you like to have your grits?

Posted in Food. 7 Comments »

7 Responses to “Kiss My Grits”

  1. Warrior Says:

    Personally, it depends on my taste buds at the time. I usually go with sugar myself, though.

  2. bridgett Says:

    The closer you are to the coast or the Mississippi/Ohio, the more likely you are to put sweetener on grits. It’s an old foodway having to do with getting cheap molasses from the Caribbean (back to the 1600s on that) or cheap sugar from Louisiana (1800s on). I would guess that there’s an overlap between the people who eat sweet barbeque and the people who eat sweet grits, but I don’t know.

    I eat sorghum and butter on mine. I also eat rice and sugar for breakfast, which Yankees find strange.

  3. Eric Says:

    Hmm…I didn’t know that Bridgett…

    We have always eaten grits with butter and salt & pepper (and I love in Southeast Mississippi)….

    Must research grit preparation more. 🙂

  4. Eric Says:

    oops…*live* in SE Mississippi 🙂

  5. Susie Says:

    Gotta have sugar and butter! Yummy!!!

  6. Warrior Says:

    So where does cheese come into all of this? My big Sunday breakfast was sausage, all crumbled, and mixed in with scrambled eggs, all together as one!

  7. Slartibartfast Says:

    Warrior, you should sue Krystal – you invented the Scrambler!


Leave a Reply

