Porcelain Anniversary

Warning, this is a TMI post.

This week marks 12 years I have been working at my company.  In this era, that’s a long, long time.  How long?

Let me put it this way.  It just so happens that the floor of the building I work on has one men’s room.  And, that men’s room has one urinal.

I drink a LOT of coffee, so I’d say I average about 5 trips per day to that urinal.  Many days it’s more, on a few days, it’s less.  Also, for the first 4 years of my employment here, I worked 12 hour shifts, alternating 3 or 4 days per week.  But, I figure, over the course of 12 years, 5 per day is probably right.

Being a geek, I couldn’t help but run the numbers.  Using a baseline of 30 seconds per pee, that’s 2.5 minutes per day in front of the urinal.

That’s 12.5 minutes per week.

Times 52 is 650 minutes, or 10.83 hours per year.  Take away vacation, holiday  and sick time time, (apprx 2 weeks), and we’re looking at 625 minutes, or 10.42 hours per year in front of that urinal.

Times 12 years means I have spent 125.04 productive, or unproductive depending on your point of view, hours greeting the same urinal.

That’s 5.21 days of my life spent peeing in the exact same place, doing the exact same thing.

I feel like I should buy the thing a drink or something – but I’m sure it’s thinking I’ve given it quite enough already.

🙂

Posted in Humor. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Porcelain Anniversary”

  1. americandust Says:

    You’d better quit now before the overlords decide you have to pee in a can at your cubical.

  2. Ford Prefect Says:

    You really are a geek!

  3. jim voorhies Says:

    I wish I still had the photo of the cubicle designed in a toilet area. Had a pull down desk surface & monitor mounted in front of the toilet. It would have so fit in here.

    Let’s see… I’ve been here 19 years so that’s…wow. no wonder I’m behind on stuff.

  4. Eric Says:

    Wow…You know you really love number-crunching when you take it to this level!! LOL 😀


Leave a Reply

