Lots Of Random Thoughts

Here are some random thoughts for your Thursday.

Things around my house are slowly getting around to normal.  For those of you who know me personally, sorry I went off the deep end lately.  I need to remember the number one rule of swimming: if you are drowning, stop flailing.

In my house, Jesus Christ is savior.  He does however, have a new assistant: Effexor.  Hopefully, my insurance will pay for it (right now, they are balking).

Lintilla is officially back to her job today.  This is her first day doing actual patient care, after 3 months of being away from it.  She promised me she’d take it easy.

Jesus’ other assistant is snow.  My kids were so excited to be out of school yesterday, they got along the entire day.

Lost in my own drama is the incredible story of my friend Mark Mills.  If you haven’t yet, go to Ginger’s site and read it.  When it comes to prayer, God may not be an ATM, maybe we can’t name it and claim it, but sometimes, I think, He uses prayer (and answers them) to remind us of His awesome power, if we will only bend our knees to Him.

You may not like Michael Medved, but this post is very wise.

Note to Tennessee liberals: YOU are supposed to be the “intelligent” ones.  Why do you allow your “lessors” to play you like a cheap violinevery presidential election cycle?  Lots and lots of people who didn’t know Obama’s middle name do now, because of your very vocal outrage.  It doesn’t matter if you are “right”, and that this is a dirty trick.  You guys better get out in front of the “Obama is in league with or will be soft on Islamists” meme, or you will lose.  I don’t care how outraged you are.

Update – Read this article  for context.

My ambition overcame my phobia last week.  I actually picked up the phone, dialed a number, and after a few days of phone tag, talked with a producer at NPR about an Ugly Betty story they are doing.  (No, they aren’t featuring ME, although they should – my task is to find fans in the LA area for them to interview).  It was during this conversation that I realised I have an “NPR” voice.  I don’t use it very often, but it’s funny how I have many different “voices” I can pull out like tools from a toolbox.

Can’t the Preds play defense anymore?

Finally…

I find it weird that our sexual attractions age with us.  Yesterday, while watching some commercial for this or that wonder-drug, one of the smiling faces was a partially white haired, fifty-something woman.  And it shocked me when the thought popped into my head:  “She’s pretty hot!”  Later, the news did a story on the MTSU poll, and it showed the students conducting the poll. 

Now, in my world, “college girls” and “girls who are pleasing to look at” were synonymous.  But yesterday, I looked at the young ladies and saw little girls.  To be attracted to them would make me feel like a dirty old man.  What the heck is happening to my brain?

That’s all I’ve got right now.

5 Responses to “Lots Of Random Thoughts”

  1. Volunteer Voters » Letting It Go Says:

    […] Slartibartfast is putting progressives on notice that the more you protest the use of Barack Obama’s middle name, the more people will know what it is: Note to Tennessee liberals: YOU are supposed to be the “intelligent” ones. Why do you allow your “lessors” to play you like a cheap violinevery presidential election cycle? Lots and lots of people who didn’t know Obama’s middle name do now, because of your very vocal outrage. It doesn’t matter if you are “right”, and that this is a dirty trick. You guys better get out in front of the “Obama is in league with or will be soft on Islamists” meme, or you will lose. I don’t care how outraged you are. Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages. […]

  2. dolphin Says:

    The aging attractiveness thing is normal. I read a study somewhere a few years ago that found that we tend to be most attracted to people who we find as attractive as we perceive ourselves to be. That more or less makes sense (although there seem to be alot of people I think are hot who I also think are way better looking than I could ever dream of being), and explains the “being attracted to people our own age” thing. I’m not even very old and I’ve already experienced it (I’m thinking here of Jesse Bradford when I first saw him in Luhrman’s “Romeo+Juliet” when I was in 9th grade and now how he looks like such a kid to me in that role, though he’s still absolutely yummy today, as an adult)

  3. sista Says:

    Was it CS Lewis who said something like “Prayer doesn’t change God but it changes me?” Or something along that line? I’m with you on that.

    Better living through pharmeceuticals….The Lawd gave people the knowledge to know how to help out with stuff. Kinda like that dumb sign that says “Jesus couldn’t be everywhere that’s why He created Grandmas” or something…

    I’m glad life is on its way back to normal…whatever that is.


Leave a Reply

