Was It Named ‘Roland’s Thompson Gun’?

Patty Hearst heard the burst.

OK, I can’t help myself. Patty Hearst, yes, that Patty Hearst, owns a French bulldog named Diva, and she is showing it at the Westminster Dog Show. She won a red ribbon as Best of Opposite Sex — a male dog won the breed, and hers was judged the top female.

For you youngins, a little history:

The granddaughter of William Randolph Hearst gained her greatest notoriety in 1974 when, as a 19-year-old, she was kidnapped in 1974 by the radical group the Symbionese Liberation Army. She later was photographed holding a gun while robbing a California bank, and eventually spent almost two years in prison.

Her sentence was commuted by President Carter, and President Clinton later gave her a full pardon.

For the record, she is not named “Roland’s Thompson Gun”, but “Shann’s Legally Blonde”. Pity, that.

Speaking of pity, this was supposed to be the year I took Lintilla to New York for Westminster (we’ve wanted to go since we met), but circumstances prevented it. Maybe next year.

Anybody else watching it? If you haven’t and watch tonight, I’ll give you a warning: the Pedigree commercials are tear-jerkers.

5 Responses to “Was It Named ‘Roland’s Thompson Gun’?”

  1. nm Says:

    May your evil little soul go rot somewhere or other, Slarti. (I say this with love, of course.) I was out last night, and have the first night of Westminster on tape. But I didn’t worry, because who ever spoils the Westminster Dog Show? And, ya know, I sort of field read before doing the line-by-line thing, so ….

    xoxoxo, but, really! Spoiler alerts, dude!

  2. bridgett Says:

    Interesting. Her granddaddy was a nut for dachshunds.

  3. Slartibartfast Says:

    nm, I didn’t say who won the groups (although I guess you could get the results from the cnn link). Tonight’s the big night anyway – rooting for my favorite breed, the Sussex Spaniel (they never win though)

    Sorry about the spoilers (even though I can’t quite figure out what I spoiled 🙂 )

  4. nm Says:

    I over-reacted. I’m sorry. In fact, I grovel in self-abasement. I was just so amazed to be getting any discussion of the competition, when it’s generally so easy to avoid it, that even hearing about French bulldogs was too much for me. So you’re a Sussex Spaniel fan, huh? My favorite is the Field Spaniel.

  5. Kat Coble Says:

    I didn’t watch it this year in part because of the pedigree commercial that sends me bawling where the dog with the bright smile doesn’t get adopted.

    I’ve seen it at least a dozen times and I still cry every time.


Leave a Reply

