I Did What?

I used to really ride Patrick Kennedy about his Ambien-induced accident a few years ago. Based on family history, I assumed he was driving drunk and had the Capitol Police cover up for him.

As of this morning, I can tell you I believe his story, 100%.

It all stated a few days ago when Southern Beal posted this cute but annoying post.  My wife overheard the irresistable song, and asked for the link.  I sent it to her, and she came to me later that day and asked me to make it her ringtone.

Now, I just don’t believe in paying that big “V” wireless company everytime I want to change ringtones, so a couple of years ago, I found a work-around which involves sending a message with a sound attachment to your phone.  With the big “V” company, you have to do it a certain way, or it won’t give you the option of making that sound your ringtone.

Anyway, I found a ringtone version of that oh-so-cutesy song, and last night I sent it to her phone.  I knew it would be a while, because I didn’t convert the sound file to a lower bitrate.

So I waited.  And waited.  And then it was time for bed.

I told Lintilla to put the phone by the bed, and if the file arrived before my Ambien kicked in, I’d take care of the technical parts.  I took my Ambien, and went to sleep.

This morning I called her to tell her I’d install the ringtone, and she answered saying that her co-worker really enjoyed her new ringtone.

“It’s installed?”, I asked.

“Of course it is, you did it.”

“Last night?”

“Yes.  I handed you the phone, and you made the song my ringtone.”

Folks, I have absolutely no recollection of doing this.  Not even a sleepy, hazy memory.  I do not remember it at all. 

I don’t know if you know what it’s like to have people tell you about things you did the night before that you don’t remember (no matter how drunk I got in my 20’s, I always remembered it).

This is freaky-deaky.

7 Responses to “I Did What?”

  1. Nashville is Talking » Sleep tasking Says:

    […] no recollection of doing this.  Not even a sleepy, hazy memory.  I do not remember it at all.  [I Did What? – Shoot The Moose – 01-22-08] Spread It Around: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and […]

  2. Southern Beale Says:

    Oh, my! I’m not sure what’s more shocking: that your wife actually wanted “Bananaphone” as her ringtone, or that you installed it for her and have no memory of doing it!

    🙂

    Seriously, that Ambien stuff can knock you on your keester. Yours isn’t the first such story I’ve heard.

  3. nm Says:

    You don’t remember coming to the big party in your pyjamas?

  4. ceeelcee Says:

    I’m the guy who’s not afraid to admit embarrassing stuff about myself, so here I go again:

    I peed in the hamper while on Ambien. RUABelle was NOT pleased.

  5. annechen 67 Says:

    I have to lock down my word processing program from 2000 to 0900. Sure, some of it was fantastic stuff, but apparently my typing speed is increased while the connection to English is decreased.

    Finding the 0.9MB packet of “saywhat” prose was… educational.

  6. Katherine Coble Says:

    You should balance your ambien with lyrica. Lyrica makes me remember everything. When I’m not having vividly strange dreams, I’m remembering spelling tests from third grade.

  7. Slartibartfast Says:

    annechen – When I worked on nightshift, I had a coworker who had a bad habit of falling asleep while working. One time, I kid you not, he had opened a new email, and because his hand happened to be right there, he typed about 10,000 Z’s. I wanted so badly to hit “send”, but I woke him up instead.

    BTW, Ford let me know who you are – so cool to have you here (and I like your blog). I just told a story in a comment at another blog about the time you took me to my first (and only) SCA meeting. As I said there, i probably should have joined. 🙂


Leave a Reply

