Help! I’m Debating With Myself

I need your help, dear readers.  Have any of you seen “The Great Debaters” yet?  I’m very seriously considering taking my family to see it this weekend.  But the PG-13 rating scares me a little. 

As any parent knows, PG-13 is probably  the most useless movie rating there is.  The movie could be harmless, just above a PG in content, OR it could be 1 “F” word short of rated R.  There can be tense situations (which are OK), or very intense, but not graphic violence (which is NOT OK with us).

I usually depend on screenIt.com – it’s the greatest movie resource a parent could ask for.  They not only give artistic reviews, but also objectively lay out before you any material that might be offensive (even including depictions of smoking and drinking).  They literally count the various curse words and let you know how many of each – this helps greatly in determining where on the PG-13 spectrum a movie lies.

But, screenIt doesn’t have a review up right now and I want to go see it this weekend.  If any of you have seen it, could you tell me if you think it is appropriate for a 10 and 11 year old?  We mostly want to avoid intense violence (for instance, if the movie shows an actual lynching, that is too intense, if it is implied, that’s OK)  Intense violence will give my daughter nightmares for weeks.  Nudity and sex are out, not because we are prudes, but because our kids will disturb the theater by screaming out “EEEWWWW!”  We’d really rather avoid the “F” word.  (Back off –  these are not YOUR children).

And I guess finally, will a 10 and 11 year old be bored by it?  I tend not to think so, because Denzel Washington is never boring.

I REALLY want to see this movie, because I love Washington, and also for the nostalgia: I was on the debate team in high school.  Those were great memories.  And, of course, it’s an “important” movie, and I’m sure it would be a great teaching tool. 

But first,I want any of you who have seen it to let me know if it is (very intelligent and mature) kid-friendly. 

Posted in Movies. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Help! I’m Debating With Myself”

  1. Susie Says:

    Or you guys could have a date night and leave the kids with Derek…he is available…and he would be a great sitter!


Leave a Reply

