Chicken & Dumplin(g)s

I made my chicken and dumplins tonight (really, pronouncing the ‘g’ is just wrong).  They are usually tasty, but my beautiful strips of dough usually lose their form and dissolve into the broth, making a tasty gravy.  It might taste good, but that ain’t proper chicken & dumplins. 

Well, I was watching Paula Deen the other day, and she was making the same dish.  She said that the key is to NOT stir the dumplings.  Not one bit.  Just let them cook.

Doh!

Worked like a charm.  They are settin’ right now (I don’t like them soupy.  I even added a roux – I prever the gravy texture).

Anybody hungry?  You’ve got ten minutes to get to West Meade.

Posted in Food. 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Chicken & Dumplin(g)s”

  1. nm Says:

    I’m sure I’m not the only one who remembers that certain promises were made concerning this recipe. I’m just saying.

  2. sistasmiff Says:

    I had Mr. Smiff’s grandmother tell me how to make C & D’s long ago and I’m so glad I did. She died in ’06 at the age of 92 and until she went to the Old Folks home, she had been making them since she was a child. It took her forever to figure out just how she does it but the BIG thing is to not stir the dumplings, but, shake the pot a little. They tend to turn to mush if you stir.


Leave a Reply

