Worshipping Meat, and a Sting Operation

Two totally unrelated things:

This past week was not without comedy.  One thing you can count on when the kids are around me more than their mother: they will be more crass.  They will definitely be less politically correct.

I drove, like, 5000 miles this past week shuffling kids around and running errands.  As we passed by the Hindu Temple on Old Hickory Blvd, the kids seemed to notice it for the very first time.  I told them stories of how I used to deliver pizzas (veggie, no cheese), to that very temple in my youth.

Now, my kids, being MY kids, think that if you have a religion, that religion must have praise songs. (This is quite gratifying to me).  So, they proceeded to write their own version of Hindu praise songs.  But, somehow they lost their way; at first they sang songs listing the virtues of various animals, but before I knew it, the subject of the songs had changed to how wonderful those animals tasted, grilled with BBQ sauce.

So, here I was driving down Charlotte pike, with my children in the back seat, singing choruses about the joys of eating T-bone steak.

I didn’t have the heart to tell them that they were kind of missing the point.

See, that’s what’s wonderful about having kids in the tween ages.  They are smart, very smart, but they still have the joy and innocence of childhood.  Yesterday, I overheard them whispering, hatching a plot.  They are going to set up a hidden video camera on Christmas Eve.  They have serious doubts about Santa, but won’t give him up until they have video proof one way or the other.

It’s so cute, I want to hold onto this moment forever.  Do I get a Santa suit, and play along?

Posted in Humor, Kids. 6 Comments »

6 Responses to “Worshipping Meat, and a Sting Operation”

  1. Music City Bloggers » Blog Archive » ‘Tween Theology Says:

    […] Slarti’s kids had quite a revelation as they rode past a Hindu temple last week: Now, my kids, being MY kids, think that if you have a religion, that religion must have praise songs. (This is quite gratifying to me). So, they proceeded to write their own version of Hindu praise songs. But, somehow they lost their way; at first they sang songs listing the virtues of various animals, but before I knew it, the subject of the songs had changed to how wonderful those animals tasted, grilled with BBQ sauce. […]

  2. dolphin Says:

    I’d totally get a Santa suit and play along. Just make sure your they don’t get your face on camera!

  3. Klinde Says:

    Totally get the suit and play along! I have my seven year old convinced that I am an elf and have to go “on duty” on Christmas Eve. It gives me a chance to get the wrapping finished and any last minute errands taken care of while he hangs out with my folks.

    How do I get away with it? Well even though he is seven he calls me “Munchkin” so he knows I am the right size – LOL!

    Love the drizzling the animal with BBQ sauce… Carnivores are my kind of people.

  4. sistasmiff Says:

    Get a friend or somebody to do the Santa suit thing. Those kids are so smart they’ll know it’s you.

  5. don_t_ask Says:

    Here’s your chance to really play with their minds: dress up as the easter bunny.

  6. Susie Says:

    So now you will have a newfound understanding of exactly what it means to be the mom/taxi driver…lol


Leave a Reply

