Thoughts From The Eye of the Storm

Cancer is quite a buzzkill.  Lintilla and I been involved in some wonderful, cheery conversations with some of you, and then somebody mentions Lintilla’s health, then everybody gets all sad and worried.  Which, we appreciate, don’t get me wrong.  But there have been many conversations recently that I’ve wanted to end like Forrest Gump: “Sorry I ruined your Black Panther party…” .

Seriously, y’all are too good to us.  I want to thank everyone for all the offers of help, and all the prayers and good thoughts.  Lintilla, the kids, and I all appreciate them greatly.

They say that in hurricanes, it is eerily calm inside the eye.  That is where we are right now.  This week has been insane.  We’ve had to do some planning for how the household will carry on during Lintilla’s incapacitation; however, I’m a little more at ease about that now because of our wonderful church and X-Alt families.  Nevertheless, we’ve still had to arrange things.  Of all the household stuff that has to be done, the one thing I’d rather not do is feed the gecko.  But, I will do it for Lintilla.  That’s love, I tell ya! 🙂

At work is where it’s craziest.  We have a pretty big project due, and I’ve been absolutely scrambling to make sure that everything is done, and done correctly, before my leave starts Monday.  In football terms, I’m throwing a fade pass – I’m setting everything up to happen on the 4th, and I have to trust that the receiver will be where I threw the ball, when I expect him to be there.  I’ve absolutely worked my butt off; there’s nothing else I can do.  I resurrected an old, bad habit of mine:  I quit delegating, and just did everything myself this week.  I know it’s wrong, but it was the only way I could be absolutely sure the project would get completed exactly the way I wanted.  It’s what I do when I get stressed: I try to do it all myself.  But, everything’s ready to go now.

My supervisor has gone above and beyond.  HR lollygagged in getting the FMLA forms to us, and she had to put her foot down in getting them to send them.  I’m afraid I made her angry yesterday, pestering her every five minutes.  She finally had to tell me to calm down.  The forms came, and they are now at the doctor’s office, to be filled out today.  I told my supervisor, she should get me back by pestering ME every 5 minutes about where the forms are!

So, anyway, I’ve been scrambling, and now it’s all pretty much done.  I don’t quite know what to do with myself; everything that can be done, has been.  I know that starting Monday, we’ll be back in upheaval time, but right now, all has been arranged, and all we can do is wait.  For a short time, we’re just going to carry on with our lives.  Saturday morning, I’m going to clear the leaves out of the driveway, so that y’all who come to visit us can get up the hill (when the leaves get wet, it’s like snow).  Saturday night, we’ll be at the Coffeehouse at New Beginnings (you will be there, won’t you?).  Y’all – we rehearsed last night – Susie and Ginger have a couple of solos that will make your toes curl.  And the “Sounds of Life” choir will be singing with us during that song.  OMG – you have to be there just to hear it!  If you want to give Lintilla a hug (which she always appreciates), this would be your chance.

Sunday, Lintilla and Trillian are having a girl’s day.  Zaphod and I will go to the Titans game.  At first, I thought I shouldn’t go, but Lintilla talked me into it.

And then Monday, well, we’ll deal with that when it gets here.

6 Responses to “Thoughts From The Eye of the Storm”

  1. newscoma Says:

    Slarti, I’ve been through this and all I can tell you is that I’m thinking of you.
    I got nothing else but kind thoughts.

  2. Ginger Says:

    Sending tons more virtual hugs your way.

    See ya Saturday night!

  3. badbadivy Says:

    HR lollygagged in getting the FMLA forms to us, and she had to put her foot down in getting them to send them.

    That’s what we HR people do. Lollygag until the last minute and then get it done all at once. 😉 We do it to irk the crap out of all you regular folks.

    My prayers are with you and your family! I’m also sending good vibes.

  4. Lynnster Says:

    In my thoughts and prayers, all four of you. Have an excellent weekend and enjoy it immensely.

  5. Meredith from Merchant Ships Says:

    Your family will be in my family’s thoughts and prayers!

  6. katie Says:

    I know you really don’t know me at all, but if you need anything at all, let me know. I really know what you’re going through…also I’m an oncology RN.


Leave a Reply

