What We Learned From The Doctor Today

We didn’t learn near as much as I’d like.  This is my layman’s understanding.  Lintilla will probably come along later and give the correct terminology. 

Adenosarcoma can grow fast or slow, can metastasize or not. It prefers to grow in female “plumbing” as I call it (as well as the lungs), that’s why they are taking everything out. Because they don’t know what they are dealing with exactly, they are going to do things a little differently on Monday.  They will make a vertical incision along with the horizontal ones, because they are going to have a good,long look around.  A pathologist will take a look at the tumor under the microscope while Lintilla is still open.  They will then know exactly what they are dealing with.  They’ll also decide at that time whether or not to take out the abdominal lymph nodes. 

They won’t be able to make decisions on the need for radiation/chemotherapy until the pathologist looks at things.

She’ll be in the hospital for four days.  They were going to do it at Baptist, but for insurance and other personal reasons, Lintilla insisted on Centennial.  Here’s something weird: Lintilla won the argument about whether or not I should be there with her the days after the surgery in the hospital.  She insisted I go to work.  We argued about it when the doctor stepped out for a bit, but she always wins arguments about these things 🙂 .  So, I’ll be there the day of the surgery, then I’ll go to work the next few days.

I’ll be home with her the next week.  She’ll be home for 6 weeks.  She can’t lift anything over 5 lbs during that time.  I’ll do what I can, but, by golly, this is going to be a good time for the kids to start helping out around the house.

We appreciate the thoughts and prayers, and offers of help.  I guarantee you, we’ll be taking you up on a few of them.  I still haven’t figured out kid/school logistics for next week, or the week of December 17th.  God will show a way, no doubt.

We’re still going to be at the coffeehouse at New Beginnings this Saturday.  Lintilla would love to see all of ya’ll there – it’s the last she’ll be out and about for a while.

Anyway, that’s what we know right now.  If Lintilla is up to it, I’ll ask her to post a more “medically correct” update.

8 Responses to “What We Learned From The Doctor Today”

  1. Susie Says:

    Just remember not all of your family is “blood related”…

    🙂

  2. x117236 Says:

    And, there are angels everywhere you just have to let them help you. Did I ever tell you about the man who helped when my dad was ill?

    I would contact the other parents in the kids’ classes. They might be able to help with babysitting/school pickups since it’s a short term thing. You never know unless you ask.

  3. Katherine Coble Says:

    It sounds like you’re in good hands medically-speaking.

    My understanding of adenosarcoma is that it is a rare tumour which likes to grow in the gland area as well as the muscles underlying the glands. Which means that the uterus (a muscle covered internally in glandular tissue) is a perfect feeding ground.

    I’m assuming (and praying) that once the uterus and all of her accompanying helper parts (ovaries, fallopian tubes, cervix) are removed from Lintilla’s body, that’ll put an end to the adenosarcoma’s feeding ground. Think of it as throwing away the flower pot in order to keep the spider mites from spreading to the rest of the plants in the room.

    You all are in my prayers every day.

  4. Ginger Says:

    Um…ok a couple of things: I’d like to suggest strongly recommend that Lintilla NOT be alone at the hospital after surgery any of the days she is there. Please trust me when I tell you that she will need an advocate. She will need somebody who can speak up for her when she needs more pain medicine, a cup of ice, anything. She will be in a lot of pain and very drugged out, and this will be for the duration of her hospital stay. Please believe me on this. I had a total hysterectomy as well, and had a lot of adhesions, etc., and it was very complicated…her surgery is going to be even MORE complicated and she will need somebody there. Please, please, please…this is not an argument she wants to win. She will realize this afterwards. If she’s worried about how hard it will be on you, then I will be happy to come out and sit with her for a few hours at a time. I’m not kidding. I will take off work to do it. That is just how strongly I feel about this.

    I’m glad y’all will be there Saturday night. I can’t wait to give Lintilla a big ‘ol hug.

  5. Susie Says:

    I am off work on Wednesday…

  6. Rachel Says:

    Slarti, if I may gently make a suggestion… When my mom had her hip replacement last year, I stayed at the hospital with her and my dad continued to go to work. My dad, although I love him, is kind of high strung and a total nervous nellie in medical environments. Not exactly conducive to rest and recovery, although I think he would’ve been okay if there hadn’t been anybody else available. My gentle suggestion is that while Lintilla may want you to go to work, it might be nice for her to have someone else handy. Feel free to blogslap me if that is too presumptious/doesn’t apply to your situation. 🙂

  7. Ginger Says:

    ok, so perhaps Rachel is a bit more “gentle” than I am in our suggestion… hahaha…

    I’m just glad it has worked out for you to be there with her.

  8. sistasmiff Says:

    Anytime you have anybody in the hospital anymore you have to have somebody there. Hospitals are so understaffed. Even when Hazel had her cancer surgery in April and was considered a “VIP” patient, it was still sometimes like yanking teeth to get help getting her in and out of bed, etc.


Leave a Reply

