Cue The Ohio Players

This last 24 hours has been an adreneline roller coaster.  I’m about spent.

First, let me update you on the situation with Trillian.  She’s serving an in-school suspension today, along with three of her peers.  The three of them took a fourth girl, held her hands behind her back, covered her mouth, and punched her.  It gets worse. 

This is apparently an extreme extension of a clique.  The fourth girl (the victim), was a member of this “club”, but apparently let others in on it.  This girl is Trillian’s BFF, they are normally inseperable.  This was basically a mafia-style beatdown.  I’ve gotten the “it was supposed to be a joke” excuse, and I don’t doubt it, but Trillian needs to learn that such things are not joking matters.  As the principal told her, if this was high school, she’d be in jail now.

I’ve given her the clique lesson before, but obviously it didn’t stick.  I’ll let a few days pass, then I’m going to have a long talk with her to let her know what it’s like to be on the receiving end of bullying. She and her friends are good kids, but this was a very, very poor choice.  I’m hoping the lesson will be learned.  The BFF’s parents are good friends with us, weve already talked and everything is fine between us.  It would appear that everything is OK between BFF and Trilian, and that’s a good thing.

Now onto happier matters.

Last night at the Wildhorse was an incredible experience.  It’s the largest stage I’ve ever been on.  I was pleased to learn that Ginger was able to make it.  Ginger, or at least her camera, took the most amazing photo of us on the stage.  I hope she posts it soon.  We kicked butt, although we didn’t win any prizes.  I had a HUGE stage to act a fool on, and I did my best middle aged David Lee Roth impression.  The musicians and singers were incredible;  it might be the most energy we’ve ever displayed on stage.  I’ll tell you more when I’ve recovered – it was that much of a rush.

Finally, over at my other place, I was contacted by a major magazine about an upcoming cover story, and given a scoop!  It’s quite a lot of fun when you’re actually taken seriously by real journalists.  Yes, I know it’s part of their marketing plan, but it also helped me immensely.

Like I said, this has been quite a rollercoaster.  I need a nap.

2 Responses to “Cue The Ohio Players”

  1. holly Says:

    My sincere kudos for your integrity in handling this matter with Trillian. I’m seeing more and more (as a new teacher) how hard it is for parents to take responsibility, as well as how hard it is for them to enforce that with their children. Most just simply give up. I can’t say I blame them, but it is then their teachers (and eventually the rest of society) who bear the brunt of their lack of parenting.

    Your obvious love for your daughter and concern for her welfare and future is inspiring. Thanks.

  2. Aunt B. Says:

    And Slarti, I just want to reiterate that, no matter how book smart we girls are, one viewing of Grease can be enough to convince some girls (not mentioning any names) that jumping other girls in the bathroom is a good idea.

    Why?

    I wish I knew. I just remember that it made me feel cool. And kind of bad*ss. And those can be pretty powerful motivators in a young girl.


Leave a Reply

