This Day Had Better Get Better

Call from school principal…

Kid involved in violence and bullying.  Victim was kid’s best friend.

In-school suspension.  Have to leave work to go to meeting with principal in a few minutes.

And it’s my “good” one…

I am totally at a loss for words.

Y’all pray for her.  I’m so mad I could spit.

6 Responses to “This Day Had Better Get Better”

  1. Eric Says:

    Oooh…So sorry to hear ’bout that.

    But I can relate. I was supposedley “the good one” too. But boy, did i get in some trouble! Good thing is, I grew out of it and got back to being “the good one”….much to my boredom.

  2. Katherine Coble Says:

    Oh my gosh. I hope everything’s okay.

    I’ll be praying.

  3. Warrior Says:

    Prayers are there, dude.

  4. Busy Mom Says:

    Breathe in. Breathe out.

    This too shall pass, and, remember a “permanent record” is fiction. I think.

    *goes to search Internet for own permanent record*

    Maybe child is still tired from weekend’s social outing?

  5. Slartibartfast Says:

    Thanks, all. I’ll post an update in a bit.

    B-Mo: you may be right. Although the only real response we’ve gotten from her so far is the 9-year-old version of “I had an unhappy childhood”.

    We’re trying to walk the fine line between showing her how serious this is, and overreacting. The latter could do more harm than good.

  6. nm Says:

    You probably wouldn’t believe what a bad kid I was at about that age. Fights in school and all. It does pass. In the meantime, she’s not going to be able to articulate what the problem is for a few years yet (unless you take her into therapy and all that stuff, which is not to say that I think you need to), so don’t take her lack of an explanation as sullenness. Even highly verbal 9 year olds don’t have the thought processes and analytical skills to help you. Work on the behavior, ask some questions that may help you to put together an explanation, but don’t expect her to be able to come up with one yet.


Leave a Reply

