Try A Little Randomness

Zaphod, two weeks into band, already has ‘Ode to Joy’ down on the trumpet.  The bad news?  He’s not sightreading it; like his dad, he memorizes a measure then plays it.  The good news?  He’s only been playing a couple of weeks.  I can’t tell you how proud I was of him last night.

I usually try not to blog pimp too much, but there’s a cross-cultural funny post over at Ugly Betty News.  I never thought I’d be able to do a football related Ugly Betty post.  Of course, I’m a Titan homer.

Female frequent readers: you will get an email from me soon, asking advice. 

I haven’t had any more time lately than to make short, pithy posts, and for that I apologise.  I’ve got several good ones in my head, but they’ll be long.

Kat and Ivy are both on my mind and in my prayers lately.

I’m still coming down off the high of this past Sunday.  X-Alt did double duty that day, culminating in taking part in a humongous praise service at Word Of Life Community Church.  The music, drama, and dancing were all inspired and annointed, and had us ‘in the spirit’ before we ever went on.  When our time came, we were primed and ready.

I swear, I’ve sung “Piggyback Ride” a hundred times, but this was the first time I’d ever had the energy we put into it come back at us ten-fold.  Who would have ever thought that a boy from my background would have ever be there singing like that?  They were dancing in the aisles.  It was surreal.  It was affirming.  I let loose in a way I never have before.  The band was smokin’.  It was just danged fun.

I only wish my family had been able to be there.

2 Responses to “Try A Little Randomness”

  1. badbadivy Says:

    I loved the quarterback/Ugly Betty post. Especially comparing Vince Young to Betty. Perfecto!

    Thanks for keeping me in your prayers. It is very appreciated. I got what may be some really good news today, so pray that it (not talking about it yet, just in case it doesn’t happen) comes true, it would be a bright spot in an otherwise craptastic couple of months.

  2. Rachel Says:

    I’m totally going to be offended now if I don’t get an email asking for advice. 🙂


Leave a Reply

