Reading Material

Amazon just delivered Alton Brown’s I’m Just Here For The Food.  I’ve only read the introduction and some of the first chapter – WOW!  This is going to be really good reading.

His purpose is to explain why certain ingredients and cooking techniques do what they do.  It is not a cookbook – it’s a science book, albeit a highly simplified one for the masses.  The inner geek  in me is jumping up and down alongside the inner cook.

I can’t wait to pass along some of the things I’m going to learn.  Woot!

Posted in Food. 6 Comments »

6 Responses to “Reading Material”

  1. John I. Carney Says:

    Are you going to see him at the Opryland Hotel this month? I’d love to, but I can’t really afford it right now, and it’s the same day as BarCamp.

  2. amy Says:

    that sounds so interesting! I have become SO much more comfortable in the kitchen, but I think I’d be more willing to experiment if I had a good grasp of what does what and why 🙂 I’ll look forward to hearing what you’re learning–maybe I will end up buying the book myself–sounds like something Steve and I both would enjoy!

  3. Slartibartfast Says:

    John: If you read back in my archives a little bit, a few weeks ago, I agonized over my choice between a stand mixer and seeing Alton. I ended up choosing the stand mixer.

    Amy: will do (without breaking fair use). After introductions, the first REAL chapter is about searing – which I should have read before cooking steaks last night. 🙂

  4. John I. Carney Says:

    The stand mixer was probably a good choice. Forgive me for not having gone back and gotten the context. 🙂

  5. Heather Says:

    I think that just might be my next purchase. My Biochem background is a real boon in the kitchen, but sometimes it’s much easier for me to visualize why things work than explain them. It’d probably be a good reference for Home Ec 101.


Leave a Reply

