Heading To Prison Again

X-Alt will be going back to Riverbend Maximum Security Prison this Sunday, to provide the music for a Sunday Service.  As I have said before, it is a life-changing experience for those who take part.

I am so, so, SO happy that Katy Seale will be joining us.  We have missed her “high lonesome” voice when we’ve done these prison trips.

(Personal aside to Katy: what happened to you this week was awful, just awful.  I am so sorry, and I can tell you that I am never going to look at that particular person the same way again)

Anyway…

We are also taking contraband. 🙂

It’s taken a lot of arrangement (and some hilarious non-phone phone conversations), but Ginger will be coming with us.  I had been thinking of this for a long time, and when I heard her sing at the Blogger Karaoke Bash, my wheels started turning.  Normally we go to the prison with a skeleton crew, and here you have this woman with an incredible voice and a heart for those in prison – well – let’s just say I was “convicted”.

Interestingly, this time we have less of a skeleton crew, so we will have quite a contingent.  We will truly make a joyful noise.  add in “Happy Jack” (a prisoner with a poweful voice) , and they’ll hear us downtown.

Last night we rehearsed, and there was a point in the evening when I was almost driven to tears.  To hear the sounds of these dear people who are family to me, in their usual beautiful harmony – to hear it in an entirely new way is a gift indeed.

Thank you Ginger, for giving your talents to glorifying God with us Sunday, and thank you, X-Alt, for indulging this old man in a vision he’s had for some time.

I can’t wait till Sunday.

4 Responses to “Heading To Prison Again”

  1. Ginger Says:

    I’m truly honored that you asked me, Slarti. I know that it’s going to be a great time.

    By the way, I had the “vision” too…so this was definitely meant to be!

  2. Susie Says:

    “Old Man”??? Give me a break! Anybody who sees you sing Piggyback Ride will agree you still have some energy left…and I am older, so stop saying you are old! LOL

  3. Music City Bloggers » Blog Archive » Ginger’s going to prison! Says:

    […] Slarti has broken the news that Ginger’s going to prison (along with Slarti and friends): It’s taken a lot of arrangement (and some hilarious non-phone phone conversations), but Ginger will be coming with us. I had been thinking of this for a long time, and when I heard her sing at the Blogger Karaoke Bash, my wheels started turning. Normally we go to the prison with a skeleton crew, and here you have this woman with an incredible voice and a heart for those in prison – well – let’s just say I was “convicted”. […]

  4. The prisoners wanted contraband, not a “country band”! « GingerSnaps Says:

    […] had the incredible opportunity to sit in with Slarti’s band, X-Alt this evening for a concert at the Riverbend Maximum Security […]


Leave a Reply

