A Post About…What Was This Post About, Again?

Posting has been light due to excessive study for a Microsoft certification test I have this Friday.  I’m scared to death about it.  There are two factoids about me that would explain it.

1) I haven’t failed an exam or test of any kind since th 7th grade.  I’m one of those people that tests well.  And generally, I pick up instruction the first time, with no need for additional study.  I’m not particularly smart, I just understand Key Concepts and phrases that they use in standardised tests. And, I guess I know a thing or two about programming, as well.

2)  Both of my grandmothers had Alzheimer’s disease.  BOTH of them.  Needless to say, this little genetic tidbit has been in the back of my mind for the last 20 years.

So, anyway, it all ties together. The past couple of weeks, I’ve been studying for  the upcoming cert exam.  And I feel like Charlie Gordon on the downside.  I’m just not as sharp as I was 5 years ago.  The facts just aren’t sticking like they used to, even after multiple study sessions.  The skills that I used to rely on to appear smarter than I really am are failing me.

I’ll probably still pass, but only because I’m cramming – something I’ve NEVER had to do before.  But, I’m afraid the years are starting to catch up to my brain.

Or, it could be something worse.

I think about my grandmothers every time I walk into a room forgetting why I came there, or I have to stop in mid-sentence because I can’t remember the name of some common item like “chair” or “Oldsmobile”.

I KNOW this sort of thing is expected as we age, but I’m only 42.

It scares the hell out of me.  Until I forget why I’m scared, at least.

5 Responses to “A Post About…What Was This Post About, Again?”

  1. Richard Haley Says:

    Which test are you taking? I feel your pain, I’ve struggled with wether or not to take them the past few years and have avoided them even though I know I should be taking them. Good luck and just wanted to say hello and I enjoy reading your blog.

  2. Slartibartfast Says:

    Richard, I’m going for my MCAD (Microsoft Certified Application Developer). It’s a .net 1.1 certification, but I work for a behemoth company that adopts technology slowly, so an MCAD would be “cutting edge”

    My first test is 70-315 (Web C#) . If I pass, I’m going to take the others in quick order. Once I get my MCAD, I’ll probably take one more test to get to MCSD, then there’s the GIANT, single upgrade test to get the equivalent .Net 20 certification (the name espaces me, but that kind of goes along with the theme of this post).


Leave a Reply

