Old And New

Pardon me while I psychoanalyze myself. 

It’s been a few days since I’ve been back from vacation, and I still can’t get my head around what’s happening in the Nashville blogsphere.  I feel like there is a huge storm that’s raging just below the surface, but it’s just a feeling.

I would comment on what’s going on, both at NiT and MCB, but to be honest, I don’t know what’s going on.  I just get the feeling everything has changed, old grudges are resurfacing, alliances seem to be forming, positions dug in. 

I do know that the recent content at NiT just isn’t my “cup of tea”, as it were.  But I know that official change is coming (or at least I hope it is).  I still check to see what’s going on from time to time, but the emotional connection just isn’t there.  Hopefully, that will change in the future.

MCB looks very, very promising; however I feel that site has not yet truly found it’s voice.  At MCB, the “connection” is ready-made for me; I have many friends who are knee-deep in getting the site off the ground.  I have some technical quibbles, but they are small, and I know the site is in its infancy. It will be fun to watch as things improve.  And I say the same thing about NiT.

It’s interesting, I was reading the article about Sterling Marlin losing his ride.  The comments at the Tennessean are mostly insults toward other drivers.  This is what I’d like to avoid, if possible.

I am fiercely loyal to Brittney Gilbert.  I do not forget a kindness, and Brittney showed more patience to me than I deserved.  We’ve only met in person two or three times, yet I can say in all honesty that there is a part of me that was genuinely hurt, watching what happened in her last days at NiT.  I’m weird that way.

Yet, I do not want to display that loyalty by publicly disparaging other bloggers, in the way my fellow Sterling Marlin fans are insulting Jeff Gordon and others. 

I only mention it because those emotions are a subtext of this whole discussion.  Loyalty, hurt, fear of change, these are present in my mind when I think of the current state of the Nashville blogsphere.  I need to keep them in mind when I make snap judgements about this or that site. 

Everything is changing.  I have to deal with that.  It would be nice to fully understand why.  Farther Along, maybe.

2 Responses to “Old And New”

  1. Kathy T. Says:

    You very nicely said what I’ve been thinking. I love my friends at MCB but also really like NiT. I think the new writers, though they seem temporary, sound like they’re just holding it together until the new site is launched (possibly not bigger or better, but just different and I’m hoping really good). So I’m still looking at everything with my rose-tinted glasses.

  2. newscoma Says:

    Well said from both of you.


Leave a Reply

