What Were You Doing?

Twenty years ago today, Lintilla and I wed at Blakemore United Methodist Church, in a small ceremony with friends and family.  This whole week, we are celebrating the anniversary of this event.

God has blessed me in so many ways, most of them are related, in some way, to the fact that Lintilla chose to say “yes” when I asked her to marry me.

As you know, normally I am loathe to dwell on the passing of the years; the last thing I want is to be reminded of my age.  But this is different.  Unlike a birthday, in which you celebrate the passive event of your birth (and fortune-related fact that you are still alive), marriage is an act of sheer will; it’s something you “do”.  Wedding anniversaries are celebrations not only of enduring love, but of accomplishment.  As I have said before, we like to personify our marriage.  We have nutured and raised it from infancy to young adulthood.  Next year, it’ll be old enough to drink.  In two years, I will have spent more time married in my life than not married.  Wow.

In this day and time, that is no small feat.  That’s why I don’t mind being reminded of how long it’s been.  So, y’all play along.  Think back to the time around July 10th, 1987.  What were you doing?  How old were you? 

As for me, I was a 22 year old (almost 23), following his heart, ignoring warnings, and trying to figure out how to put on a tux.  I worked for Pizza Inn, and had saved enough to buy one of those cheap 80’s waterbeds for our first apartment in Murfreesboro.  I look around at my life now in amazement at how much has changed, yet remained the same.

Somehting tells me the next 20 years will be the same way. 

8 Responses to “What Were You Doing?”

  1. Susie Says:

    Congratulations! Jeff and I celebrate our 20th on 10/10
    and I hope we get to go do something fun like you guys…

  2. Rachel Says:

    On July 10th, 1987, I was still 9 years old. I think that would have been the summer before 5th grade. Needless to say, much has changed since then. 🙂

  3. Rachel Says:

    PS – Congrats! We just celebrated our 5th in May – perhaps you could write me an instruction manual for getting to 20 without strangling anybody. 🙂

  4. Klinde Says:

    Congrats! I am so glad their people out their my age who have accomplished this feat with the person they love. I am on husband #2 (my soul mate, thank the Lord) and just celebrated my 1st anniversary.

    My parents will celebrate 44 on the 20th of this month and I have wonderful role models in seeing how to cultivate a marriage and watch it grow and blossom.

  5. amy Says:

    congratulations and happy anniversary!
    you probably don’t want to know how old I was on July 10, 1987 🙂

  6. bridgett Says:

    Best wishes on your anniversary. John and I will be married 11 years on July 13th; it’s the best decision I ever made.

  7. Ford Prefect Says:

    As I recall I was with you, driving you to the church! and since I take total credit for putting you and the wife together I am especially proud that you did not do as I suggested in the car on the way to the church 🙂

  8. sistasmiff Says:

    Congratulations!

    July of 1987, I was 18 and still working at my first job-tour guide at the Country Music Hall of Fame. I weighed about 130 lbs and was on the cusp of learning a lot about life.

    Two more years and I will have been with Mr. Smiff longer than I was with my parents.


Leave a Reply

