Happy Independence Day, Y’all!

I hope you have the best of celebrations today.

I hold no illusions that some new order where sovereign boundaries no longer matter, even if it were possible, would solve the world’s problems, or even make them any better.  We can’t even get Auburn and Alabama fans to live in peace with one another, how the heck could we meld the people of 193 nation-states?

Human nature is what it is, and I believe that it is folly to try to force Utopia until Jesus sets up His earthly kingdom, when all hearts will be changed (the only way a world full of people can live under one banner in peace).

So, if we’re going to have these distinctions, there is no better place on earth than the United States of America.  It’s the worst country in the world, except for all the others. 

Yeah, I’m a homer.

But it pleases me to live in a country that half the world looks down on (and has for centuries), and the other half hates in the way many hate the New York Yankees.  I love the fact that we are still, after all this time, unsophisticated as a people.  I love the creativity fostered in the most free nation on earth.   I love the fact that the most important question during introductions here is “What do you do?” rather than “Who is your father?”.

I love the fact that the US is such a free country that ungrateful people can complain constantly like spoiled children, and we call it patriotism.  Try that in Iran (or even England or Canada, both of which have laws restricting speech).

When the founders signed the Dangerous Document in 1776, they were sewing the seeds of an very imperfect nation.  Yet, we often forget that ALL nations were and are imperfect.  If I have to live in an imperfect nation, the United States will do just fine.

I celebrate this nation, and I thank all of those who have put on the uniform of her armed services.

One Response to “Happy Independence Day, Y’all!”

  1. Klinde Says:

    I love the fact that the most important question during introductions here is “What do you do?” rather than “Who is your father?”.

    I love that particular statement. After meeting my husband’s family and friends in Germany earlier this year I noticed that not a single person aked what I did for a living. Not a one. I was asked about my family, my home, my interests. No one cared about how I earned a living.


Leave a Reply

