Hey, Photographers!

Help me figure out what happened here.  What happened to make my daughter’s arm disappear? (click to embiggen)

Trillian Jump

It was a low light / high movement situation; probably not the best for a newbie.

The full info about the shot is here. Was it the flash? The sun? The settings? Could I do it again, on purpose?

I really want to learn the science of light. The art can’t come till I master the science. The engineer in me wants a formula: x amount of available light, combined with y aperture and z exposure causes xyz effect. I want a chart, a sliding scale table, something where I can do an equation to get the effect I want. I won’t be ready to set my inner artist loose till I’ve figured out what the heck I’m doing with the science.  I DON’T want to learn photography like I did music.

Anybody know a good book on the science of light?

4 Responses to “Hey, Photographers!”

  1. Ford Prefect Says:

    You had a combo of things happen, first her arm was moving fast enough that you camera could not capture it at the shutter speed you have you camera set on, causing it to record a “blur” instead of the solid arm. Secondly the light sun was behind you shining into the lens so you caught the sunlight through the bur in her arm thusly making her arm dissapear. The simple solution is to “up” the shutter speed on the camera. Not knowing the shutter limitations on you camera I can’t really suggest a speed to set it on, but in action shots the faster the better is a good rule. I doubt that your camera has a shutter speed that is so fast that it could cause you to mess the shot up that way.

  2. Chris Wage Says:

    What he said .. your shutter speed was just too slow. You would need to increase the shutter speed (less time) and compensate for the decrease in light by one of:

    * stopping down the lens to something faster than f/3.5 however f/3.5 may be the largest aperture on your lens, meaning you’d have to:
    * Rely on the flash’s built-in metering to compensate properly with fill flash
    * Increase ISO to something higher than 800 to increase the sensitivity of the sensor

  3. Sharon Cobb Says:

    What they said.

    If you would like to borrow some of my books from film school, you’re welcome to. Just email me.

    I’m thinking of taking a course at TnTech is digital photography in the fall. I’m pretty good with film, but have a lot to learn about digital.


Leave a Reply

