Dear Bellsouth

I want you to understand something.  Listen to me good.  If I want your DSL service, I will call you, or sign up online.  But, if you have your telemarketers call my home, skirting the do not call registry*, using the high-pressure tactics that drove us to the do not call registry in the first place, you can be rest assured that not only am I NOT going to use your DSL service, I will most assuredly sever ties with your company altogether.  Whatever you are sending us that your people refused to leave the phone till we accepted will end up in my barbeque.

This is 2007. We do not need land line service; we were just keeping it for nostalgia’s sake.  But believe me, you have ticked off my wife to the point that I think I can at least talk her into going to Vonage.

Good job.  If I were you, I’d look for another direct marketing company.  This Novo 1 outfit is giving you a bad, bad, name.  Yes, they made the mistake of not supressing caller ID the first time they called, so I know who they are.

*The do not call registry site states that companies you currently do business with are not forbidden from calling you by the do not call rules.  This is the pitfall of telecom companies having their hand in everything. We technically do business with Bellsouth (for phone service), but I consider the other arms of the company to be totally separate.  Nevertheless, I filed a complaint anyway, so we’ll see what comes of that.

We hate, hate HATE unsolicited marketing calls.  They are a sure way to drive us away from doing business with you at all.

Your corporate office will get an earful from my wife tomorrow.  You have no idea what you’ve gotten yourself into, getting on the bad side of that woman.  You brought this on yourselves, though.

Stupid, stupid,stupid.  Who uses high-pressure telemarketing in this day and age?

7 Responses to “Dear Bellsouth”

  1. badbadivy Says:

    I read this: Listen to me good. and was like, “ohhh, slarti’s MAD!” I was right, too, lol.

  2. Susie Says:

    Seriously, at my office it is becoming way past a joke…we get calls at least 10 times a week wanting to let us know that Bellsouth is now the “New AT&T”…I am way past being nice to them anymore!

  3. Nashville is Talking » Dear BellSouth Says:

    […] Slarti has words for our baby Bell. If I want your DSL service, I will call you, or sign up online. But, if you have your telemarketers call my home, skirting the do not call registry*, using the high-pressure tactics that drove us to the do not call registry in the first place, you can be rest assured that not only am I NOT going to use your DSL service, I will most assuredly sever ties with your company altogether. […]

  4. bridgett Says:

    Some companies only pay their employees for calls of a significant duration — workers have to get past a certain point in the script to get paid, which is why they continue to badger you after you say no. As long as you are on the phone, they are on the meter. There are a couple of ways to handle this. You can talk over them, stating clearly that you want to be put on their “do not call” list and then hang up on them. (Companies maintain a separate list for their sucka…I mean, clients.) You can also talk over them and pleasantly tell them that you don’t want their service/product but that they should have a nice day and then hang up. After all, the callers are humans in a lousy job and they are not personally out to ruin your peace, so screaming at the messenger seems uncalled for. But do hang up. If your dander is really up, calling corporate might work to get you off the call list — but you can probably accomplish the same thing by waiting for another call and doing it through the tele-troll. Then you won’t be put on endless hold to end annoyances you shouldn’t have to put up with anyhow.

  5. Paul Nicholson Says:

    why have a land line at all? If you want to get at them, just cancel your service. Buy a slightly better cellphone plan that you had with the extra $20-$40 you’ve been giving to them. There is competition in the cellphone industry. Much better over here. Do you actually need a land line?

    My wife and i have operated essentially land-line free for 5 years. Its been great. We have one now only because we opted for DSL over cable (much cheaper – and we don’t have cable TV) for our internet. But for years we had no broadband ‘net (accessed through cellphones) or had a cable modem.

  6. Nashville is Talking » Murky marketing Says:

    […] week, Slarti was hating on BellSouth. This week, it’s Paul Chenoweth. It seems both of them are not happy with the marketing […]

  7. Idetrorce Says:

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce


Leave a Reply

