Things Always Get Better

Did anyone see the 20/20 special on “luck” last night?  It was fascinating.  Apparently, optimists generally are luckier, because they are more open to luck.  We Chistians would probably substitute “blessings”and “blessed”, but we’re really talking about the same thing; the only difference is whether the luck is directed or just happenstance.

Anyway, I found it intersting and timely.

Like I’ve whined about over and again, I’ve had a really bad week.  I’ve just about decided that I’ve taken my current position just about as far as I can.  Since I’m in the middle of a mid-life crisis (newscoma, we should write a book together – kind of a he said / she said of mid-life), it won’t hurt to start looking at my options.  Do y’all know I’ve been in IT for 19 years?  Holy crap.  Anyway, that kind of experience is worth something.  There are several positions within my company that I’m going to look at first; I REALLY like working for this company, I just don’t think it’s worth the stress anymore to remain in the position I’m currently holding. Brittney’s kind of inspired me; I know I don’t have to take this crap. 

But I’m much older than Brittney, and have some pretty steep financial obligations, so it makes more sense for me to find another job before walking away.  But just thinking about walking away is a big step for me.  I’ve become far too comfortable, and my personality is not built for comfort. 

Speaking of comfort, I woke up unwillingly at 4 this morning.  I’m already pretty loopy.   I’m coming down with a summer cold.  And I don’t care.

I’ll be heading out soon to our big show tonight at New Beginnings.  It is going to be something else, and I hope we raise a lot of money for this very small but wonderful and daring church.

And I sold enough stuff on eBay to get the DX-40 I’ve been Jones’n for!  Chris Wage was right; I’ve only had the thing a day, and I’m already eyeballing more lenses.  But this camera is absolutely awesome.  Here’s a photo I took this morning of some lovely ladies, and I’ve yet to take any training:

Mom and Daugher

OK, it’s a little washed out on the right, but Trillian and Lintilla look wonderful.
Check out the one Trillian took:

Lilly

You have to admit, not bad for a 9 year old.

And here’s something else that’s cool. At the Habitat For Humanity build on Thursday, I left very tired but very excited. I used a circular saw all day! You must understand, that when I was a kid, my Dad sized all of his boys up, and he quickly decided that my job would be to “go get that” and “measure this” and “hold this”. Which was OK, power tools scared me, and just like with guns, a tentative operator is a dangerous operator.

But, I got volunteered to be the “cut man”, and it was scary and exciting at the same time. Once I got over my fear, it was almost as if 40 years of feeling inadequate melted away. I wanted to call my dad right there and say, “Guess what I’m doing???” I wouldn’t let anyone else near the saw. I exhausted myself, but when I left for the day, I felt a pride I’ve never felt before.

The future owner of the house hugged me as I was leaving to thank me, but I said, “No, thank YOU!” I really can’t explain what a thrill it was to finally, finally feel the pride of being a carpenter. It may sound silly to you, but it means the world to me.

So, things altogether aren’t any better than they were before the week started, but they ain’t too bad, either. And that’s worth something.

Now, I’m going to go make a joyful noise, and bask in the reflection of that joy from Heaven.

2 Responses to “Things Always Get Better”

  1. newscoma Says:

    The mid-life crisis twins.
    That’s us.
    Now going to take more pain meds as my tooth is killing me.

  2. Susie Says:

    Lilly could be the next greatest photographer! Good job!


Leave a Reply

