Getting It In

I’m going to do one of those random, rambling posts, because tomorrow is totally booked, from 5am till about 8pm.  My department is working on a Habitat for Humanity house tomorrow (it’s going to be HOT!), then I immediately have to go to a planning meeting for my Sunday School class.

But, I’m not complaining.  I’ve had an extremely stressful week.  I have a lot of irons in the fire, both at home and at work.  And I’m dealing with some people at work who have lost confidence in the data housed in a system I developed.  And the data that’s messed up is because of actions of others, beyond my control.  So, it’s extremely frustrating – people in my business are dead professionally if they get a reputation of incompetence.  And it’s unfair.  So, I literally threw a hissy fit this morning. 

So I’m glad I’m doing the Habitat house tomorrow.  Sometimes, just working with your hands, in the service of others, is the best stress reliever of all.  But get ready, I’m going to write a post Friday whining about how tired and sore I am.

Watch out, I’m going to remind you again about our big fund-raising coffee house at New Beginnings fellowship Saturday night.  I’ll do a full post about it Friday, but I want to keep the bug in your ear.  Rehearsal last night was incredible.  Please, please, please come see us and the other acts play Saturday night.

Lintilla is suffering from a summer cold.  I may be getting it, to.  Always happens ehwn we’ve got a big gig coming up.

I’m thinking about writing a book.  It might get me excommunicated (do they do that in the Methodist church?)  Here’s the premise: anybody with eyes and ears can tell that I’m smack dab in the middle of a mid-life crisis.  The book would be a several year project, chronicalling my journey through this minefield.  Not neccessarily a diary like my blog, but more of a study of the book of Ecclesastes, and how a man struggling with an awkward time in life in the 21st century can relate to it.  I intend to be brutally honest about my temptations, my doubts, my triumphs, my failures.  I don’t know, it’s just an idea floating around in my head right now.  People who haven’t been through something like this can be very judgemental about it, so it’s a little scary.  But most worthwhile things are.

Messages:

Rachel, no stone pots?  I know that dolsot bibimbap is a regional specialty, and most Koreans don’t eat it that way, but I LLOOOVVEEE the crispy rice on the outside.  It wasn’t that hard; the hardest part is cooking all the veggies in a very short amount of time.  And I’d love the pancake recipe.

Liz, you misunderstand.  Our parenting philosophy on these things goes something like this:  adult themes are things we want to introduce slowly to our children as they mature.  Homosexuality is one of those subjects, just as any type of sexuality is.  We know our children, we know what they are ready for.  We know the proper language that will get through to our kids about a subject.  We have been “releasing” more and more info about sexuality in the last couple of years, because puberty is fast approaching.  If we were total prudes, trust me, we wouldn’t be watching Ugly Betty at all.  Different parents do things differently. We could be totally screwing things up.  We won’t know till they pick our nursing homes.

About the Paris Hilton thing: I always try to approach things form a Christian point of view.  Any blind spot that keeps me from having compassion for a fellow human being has to go.  Many people who pride themselves on compassion for the poor and downtrodden, suddenly harden their hearts toward someone who is rich.  This is not Christian.  Jesus interacted with the rich and powerful no differently than He did with the poor and afflicted. 

These things are never about the judged, they are about the judges.  If you can have less human compassion for another person because of their material surroundings (wealth or poverty), you have a lot of praying to do.  I’ve been hated because I was too poor, and I’ve been hated for being too rich.  Yet, I am the same person.  But those doing the hating never saw me, they saw my material surroundings.

Race. Gender. Material situation.And many others: they are all horrible reasons to harden our hearts.

5 Responses to “Getting It In”

  1. Katherine Coble Says:

    Many people who pride themselves on compassion for the poor and downtrodden, suddenly harden their hearts toward someone who is rich. This is not Christian.

    ….These things are never about the judged, they are about the judges.

    Aren’t you judging?

    For instance, I don’t think my heart is hardened toward PHilton. I just think I’m not down with her shenanigans. I’ve not been laughing on the sidelines saying “Good for you, Bitch! Hope you get raped in prison!” (I’ve seen that done and said, though.)

    I’m just saying that “oooh…poor widdle blonde girl is cwying!” is not a sufficient reason for letting someone out of a justly-earned jail sentence.

  2. Kleinheider Says:

    till about 8pm

    Hey, I thought the end time was “whenever.”

  3. Katherine Coble Says:

    Hey, I thought the end time was “whenever.”

    I think he’s going to his Sunday School thing and dodging our “whenever” thing entirely.

  4. Slartibartfast Says:

    Kat, mostly I’m talking about folks who seem to take glee in seeing rich folks go through misery. I’ll be totally honest with you: I’m absolutely clueless about what Hilton did to land herself in jail. That’s how little I pay attention to these things.

    Actually, John Galt was just getting on my nerves at NiT. But I love to break out this line of argumentation in Sunday school debates with my liberal Christian friends, because their compassion seems to vanish for rich, white Republican men.

    Now, of course I am judging , myself (we could always go around in circles here). But in the end, my judgementalism toward the judgemental will in no way hinder my compassion toward those I’m judging (at least in theory – I’m a work in progress).

    ACK – I’m a Methodist – we’re the ones who have the organist start playing music if the pastor goes over by a minute. 🙂

  5. bridgett Says:

    Judging…yeah, I’m struggling with that this week.


Leave a Reply

