Lord, We Are The Geek Family

We just finished the nightly”must see” in our house this summer: Good Eats followed by Unwrapped.  My kids absolutely adore Alton Brown. He’s silly, he incorporates science into his shows, and he’s a great, inventive cook.  I have no idea where the love of Unwrapped came from (I mean, it’s just tours of factories over and over), but it’s acheived cult status in my household.

Now we are watching the Mythbusters episode  we DVRd last night.  My family just cannot live without Jamie (Zaphod’s favorite), Adam (Lintilla’s favorite), Grant, (Trillian’s favorite), Tory (Who we all love for his silliness),and Kari (my favorite, I wonder why?); sometimes they feel like members of the family.  Irreverent geeks…yeah, they’d fit in.  And they love to blow stuff up, which is always a good treat.

Tomorrow, I’ll try to post a photo of four laptops, lined up just like the hundreds are Microsoft Tech Ed, which, sadly, I had to miss this year because of departmental budget cuts.

Considering the way things have been lately, I’d better add the disclaimer that “Geek” is a term of endearment for me.  Ask my children the difference between nerds and geeks, and they’ll tell you: “geeks get things done”.

6 Responses to “Lord, We Are The Geek Family”

  1. queensonia2001 Says:

    I swear mythbusters comes on 20 times a day. Between that, and the most dangerous job show…..discovery channel never gets turned off.

  2. Kristina Says:

    Did you know that Alton Brown is hosting a cooking seminar in August? It’s being held at the Opryland Hotel (or whatever the heck it’s called now). Tickets are a bit pricey since it’s a package deal (seminar + accommodations) but I bought them anyway. Alton is twelve different types of awesome.

  3. Slartibartfast Says:

    OMG Kristina! I may have to go as a birthday present to myself! Did you get tickets through Opryland Hotel, or is it a ticketmaster type thing?

  4. Susie Says:

    I should have known before I looked at the picture why she is your favorite…lol

  5. Kristina Says:

    Slartibartfast,

    Here’s the link I used. I had to call and make the reservations over the phone. I’m so freaking excited.

    http://www.gaylordhotels.com/gaylordopryland/packages/GetCookin.cfm

    It must be reassuring to know that you’re not the only geek in town. 🙂

  6. Rachel Says:

    Oh, man, can I come over and watch Mythbusters with the kids and complain about why I don’t buy the applicability of the experiments? Because someone around these parts is tiring of it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

