Something Cool For You Oldsters Like Me

I screamed in WalMart the other day.  Looking with my son at Yu-Gi-Oh cards, my eyes spotted something that my brain refused to comprehend.  I did a double take.  Finally, on the third look, I was ready to accept what I was seeing:

They’ve brought back Wacky Packages.

Oh. My. God.

Y’all don’t know how important “Wacky Packs” were to me when I was Zaphod’s age.  I remember working my butt off to get money for a pack of Wacky Packages and a package of “Now or Laters”.  (Amongst my friends, they were called “now-laters”.

This development fills me with a wistful nostalgia.  The cards have not changed a bit; they are exactly as they were in 1975.  Parody sticker on the front, the back has a single piece in a puzzle that forms a big parody package.

Now, if they’d just bring back clackers, I’d be in mid-life crisis heaven.

5 Responses to “Something Cool For You Oldsters Like Me”

  1. Ginger Says:

    omg!!!! My brother & I called them “Wacky Packers”!!!
    So they have them at Wal-Mart, huh? I’m all over it. 🙂

  2. Busy Mom Says:

    Yep, got my Wacky Packages and Nowlaters at the Westgate Pharmacy on a regular basis.

    But, the stickers used to be silk, and, not the paper crap they are today.

    Check this out: http://www.wackypackages.org/

  3. Busy Mom Says:

    Oops, didn’t see your link the first time through.

  4. Bridget Says:

    Every notebook or folder I had in school was covered in these. What a throw back to a different time in the world!

  5. Wacky Packages Says:

    Yes they did. See my blog, Wacky Packages


Leave a Reply

