Dang It, Steve Gill

I listened to your shows for years.  I gave your campaign money.  And now I hear you are asking listeners to call WKRN because two of their employees who are paid to give opinions…

gave an opinion.

Are you nuts?  You see it works this way: somebody says something.  You listen, think about it, then reply respectfully.  He listens,  finds points of agreement, and highlights remaining differences.  You do the same.

It’s the way grown-ups speak to each other.  I have not met you, Mr Gill, so I can’t yet call you and idiot, because I don’t know if you are an idiot.  Yet, you throw around the word like candy.  Save the word, restore its power.  Someone who disagrees with you (and me, for that matter), doesn’t immediately qualify for the term.  In fact, I’ve had some very smart people disagree with me over this very subject.

You are not conversing.  You are holding your hands over your ears and yelling”La, LA, can’t HEAR you!” 

 What you are doing is not what our soldiers fight and die for.

6 Responses to “Dang It, Steve Gill”

  1. Nashville is Talking » Appeals to Jingoism Says:

    […] #5: Slarti’s got our back: I have not met you, Mr Gill, so I can’t yet call you and idiot, because I don’t know if you […]

  2. newscoma Says:

    Well written, Slarti.

  3. And Furthermore, Your Website Really Sucks « The Lynnster Zone Says:

    […] Slartibartfast fairly well summed up most of my own thoughts on the matter, aside from the fact I do not generally listen to or read Steve Gill.  But I agree with what Slarti said both on his blog and in some comment discussion around various NIT-involved blogs, and will go a step or two further here. […]

  4. And Furthermore, Your Website Really Sucks « The Lynnster Zone Says:

    […] Slartibartfast fairly well summed up most of my own thoughts on the matter, aside from the fact I do not generally listen to or read Steve Gill. But I agree with what Slarti said both on his blog and in some comment discussion around various NIT-involved blogs, and will go a step or two further here. […]

  5. Blog Soup « DeMarCaTionVille Says:

    […] 5th, 2007 by aegh (1) Prognosis is Good: The Internet has judged Steve Gill for his rabid patriotism and subsequent attack against WKRN bloggers and Bill Hobbs for his Planned Parenthood buffoonery […]

  6. amir Says:

    STEVE GILL just pissed me off very badly. He just said that “the people of New Orleans sat around on their roofs waiting to be rescued, during KATRINA. But the people of Kentucky “are good ole country folk” that don’t need people to come rescue them. “Different mindset.”

    What this fat limlbaugh wanna be is saying, that the black folds in new orleans were sitting on their roofs NOT BECAUSE of a FLOOD, but because they are black and lazy.

    And that the people of kentucky, aren’t sitting on their roofs, IN A SNOWSTORM(LOL), because they are good white people who don’t depend on the government for everything.

    WOW steve. Idiots like you are why the republican party is a MESS. Thanks for giving me another reason to believe that my vote for OBAMA, was the right one. ha ha ha

    what an idiot steve gill is.


Leave a Reply

