I’m Trying To Score Some Pot(s)

I’ve got a fee-va!  Not for cowbell, but for my favorite Korean dish: bibimbap.  Oh, my goodness, but that stuff is good.  In Korean households, the dish is many times prepared from leftovers, so it is an economical dish.  UNLESS you get it at a Korean restaurant.  Then it’ll cost you a pretty penny.  They have a pretty good version at Koreana; I’ve never tried it at Korea House out my way.  The best bibimbap I’ve ever had is at a small storefront Korean restaurant in Ft Walton Beach, Florida called “Okee-Dokee”.  (Yes, they have Karaoke…)

Anyway, I’d like to make some for Lintilla for her upcoming birthday.  (The kids won’t touch it, so I’ll have to make them bulgogi that night).  To do that, I need the stone pots to cook it in.  This is what makes the dish soooooo wonderful – the bottom is lined with rice, and as the dish cooks, the “outside” rice gets crunchy and brown.  My mouth is watering thinking about it.  You pour hot chili sauce (well, I do) over the whole thing and eat up, Yummm!

So, my mission this week is to find two “dolsots” (stone pots) , and get them to my house before June 12.  Anybody know where one can buy Korean cookware (in English)?

9 Responses to “I’m Trying To Score Some Pot(s)”

  1. Warrior Says:

    Have you tried K & S Market up on the hill on Charlotte?

  2. Slartibartfast Says:

    Now THERE’S an idea! Thanks, Warrior!

  3. Slartibartfast Says:

    Thanks, nm.

    Being of limited means, WS is probably a last resort for me, but if I have to, I’ll do it!

  4. nm Says:

    You’re not going to find stone (or stoneware) pots for cheap anywhere. K-Mart has an anodized aluminum caldero that might work for you. Or you might check Amazon–they sometimes have specials on cookware.

    I gotta say that I don’t see how the guy who cooks bibimbap likes Americanized Mexican food as one of his favorites, but whatever. (joke, Slarti, joke)

  5. Slartibartfast Says:

    🙂

    There’s very few types of food I DON’T like (hence, the problem with my weight). Very little in the way of seafood, but even at a seafood restaurant, I can find something I like (I like less “fishy” fish, for example – cod, flounder, etc)
    I’m an equal-opportunity glutton.

    Anyway, I have found this, if I can trust the merchant. These are very similar to the pots they bring out at Korean restaurants:

    http://www.koamart.com/shop/48-1172-asian_cookware-stone_bowl__large.asp

    And, Ill be heading down to K&S later this week, so hopefully I’ll have something by the end of the week.

  6. nm Says:

    The few types you don’t like including authentic Mexican?

  7. Slartibartfast Says:

    Oh, I like authentic Mexican. But I refuse to take an elitist attitude about it.

    I like La Hacienda as much as the next guy, but at the same time, a burrito smothered in cheese tastes good, whether it’s “authentic” or not.

    It’s really not an either/or thing with me.

  8. nm Says:

    I spent twenty years in NYC, home of blue chips, blue drinks, and spinach burritos bigger than your plate, and I swear I will never eat anything but authentic Mexican food again.


Leave a Reply

