If Only Mack Would Come Off His Sabbatical

Lots of immigration talk going on today.  Especially from Carter and Aunt B. It’s all very enlightening, and B’s post about it is hilarious.  Bridgett chimes in with real facts, that kind of ruin the party atmosphere, but hey, it takes all kinds.

I make no secret that I take a middle ground when it comes to immigration.  I believe in an impenetrable wall(s), with a massive gate.  I also try not to make distinctions between our neighbors to the north and our neighbors to the south.  But the discussion today centers on culture, particularly Mexican culture and how it fits in with our anglo-centric culture.

But there’s one thing about the discussion nobody’s talking about, and I’ll be a praty-pooper and bring it up.  It seems to me that there is a large section of the Mexican immigrant population that not only has no intent of assimilating, it has no intent of becoming American at all.  There is quite a large contingent that is in the US to work, and send money back home.  I have no idea how large this contingent is, because there are so many people underground there’s no way to get an accurate count.  I wish dearly that Mack could chime in, and tell me if my assumption has any merit.

And maybe Bridgett could add historical context:  has this happened before.  Were’nt the Irish practically indentured servants at first?  I’m asking because I don’t know.

 Anyway, just rabble-rousing.

3 Responses to “If Only Mack Would Come Off His Sabbatical”

  1. Lynnster Says:

    I’m with you, I miss Mack’s posts. Not just about this subject, I just miss him. Sigh.

  2. Ginger Says:

    awwww…Mack will love knowing he’s missed…sweet. 🙂

  3. Birds of Passage « My Beautiful Wickedness Says:

    […] of Passage Filed under: Uncategorized — bridgett @ 2:42 pm Slarti asks a very intelligent question in regard to the Aunt B/Kleinheider immigration […]


Leave a Reply

