Unjustly Accused

I need to blow off some steam. 

This is driving me crazy.  I have been accused of something I did not do, and you know what?  No matter how trivial, the sting of such an accusation will not go away.  My boss says I need to let it go, and she’s right, but I just can’t.

Background: SCC switched to a new coffee vendor last year.  This one provides “gourmet” coffees (Starbucks, etc), and it does so in metal pots that eliminate the need for a warmer.  They are heavy, as far as coffee pots go, so it’s harder than normal to tell if you are near the end of the pot.

I’m sure you’re familiar with the unwritten office law: if you take the last of a pot, you must make a new one.  Well, I was accused of breaking this law yesterday, by my boss’ boss.  He didn’t accuse me directly, he went to my boss.  His accusation was based on some assumptions that weren’t accurate.

Being the kind of programmer that drinks more coffee in a day than most drink in a week, I take coffee rules very seriously.  If you accuse me of breaking a coffee rule, you might as well accuse me of embezzlement.

Anyway, I would talk to the man directly, but 1) the original conversation was through an intermediary, and 2) this man is pretty unapproachable.  Not only that, but he holds my employment fate in his hands, so, my boss is right, I should let it go.

But it really ticks me off.  Pah!

When I’m elected president, I’ll have him audited… [you didn’t hear that from me]

11 Responses to “Unjustly Accused”

  1. x117236 Says:

    Please. You-know-who is a moron with zero integrity. He isn’t worth the energy to walk to his office. I’m so happy to hear he’s spending his valuable time with such important matters. Just confirms what I’ve always known…

  2. Katherine Coble Says:

    Maybe you’re so stressed out about the employment situation that you already have major issues with the accusing party in question, and so now that he’s essentially done what you fear–unjustly causing you pain by devaluing you– you are having an abreaction.

    In short, you’re transferring the anxiety of the potential job loss onto this situation.

    I get why it’s happening, but I also think it’d be healthier to let it go.

  3. badbadivy Says:

    I can’t believe he would go to your boss about it,. Holy crap.

  4. Eric Lee Says:

    Man, what a boss. So many other things to worry about – and he’s worried about you emptying the coffee pot?? c’mon now…And on top o’ that, he told your boss about it?! What a man of integrity [not].

  5. Shauna Says:

    Let it go. Sounds like this person is being totally petty, and there’s no reason for you to be the same way.

  6. sistasmiff Says:

    I had something like that happen to me once, but, it had to do with an email and something I said that didn’t matter a hill of beans but the Big Dude in the Executive Suite was so uptight about stuff, he told my boss’s VP about it. It was insane.

  7. Susie Says:

    My boss came to my office a few years ago and put the empty toilet paper roll on my desk and said…”you were the last one…could you not have just put a fresh one on the holder?”-I have never forgotten that…and I ALWAYS make sure there is still some TP left! LOL

  8. Shauna Says:

    Woke up this morning and realized that I had written a well-meaning comment that sounded sort of assy. Hope you didn’t interpret it that way.

  9. newscoma Says:

    Slarti,
    I know this probably won’t make any sense but some people in work environments seek discourse.
    Just ignore folks like this. They want to make you misstep and doubt yourselves. Don’t let it be over coffee.
    I hate it when people do stuff like this.
    And, yeah, audit him when your president and I’m your liberal advisor 🙂

  10. Slartibartfast Says:

    Shauna: not at all.

    A day later, it all seems very silly. But the Redneck Canadian is correct about this guy in the first comment; if I make it through the downsizing, I’m seriously considering moving to another area.

    This man is impossible to please and fickle, which, as a programmer, makes my job very difficult, if not impossible. I need someone to tell me what they want, and then not change it 5 minutes later after I’ve started work.

    My direct boss is wonderful (alhtough she can be moody, like me), but I really think I need a change. I think this episode just solidified it for me.

  11. newscoma Says:

    Understand your pain, Slarti. If I don’t get a change soon, I’m going to hide in my room.
    Seriously.


Leave a Reply

