Today is “For My Own Good” Day

I have an early workout with the Redneck Canadian today because some yahoo at Sirius Cybernetics decided that it would be a good idea to call a meeting during lunch hour.  Even though last Monday hurt, Thursday didn’t do much for me.  It’s time to take off the training wheels.  I’ll raise the weight, or the reps (probably the weight because I’ll be short on time because of the yahoo).

Then, early this afternoon, I have my yearly physical (which I haven’t bothered to attend in two years).  Men, when you reach that magical age of 40, the doc adds a new element to your yearly physical.  It is at this point that it would be a good idea to have either a female doctor, or a jockey-sized male doctor.  Why?

Smaller Fingers.

[…and all the women said “you big baby – you should see what WE have to go through!”]. 

Everything is relative.  I never had to deal with this before, so to me, it’s a big deal.

Finally, I tried something for my own financial good last night.  I had been eating a South Beach Diet Southwestern breakfast wrap every morning for breakfast.  At $3 bucks a box (contains 2), this makes for some expensive breakfast.  So, last night, I decided to assemble my own. 

I got some of those very low calorie whole wheat tortillas ($2.85), two packs of Kroger brand “Egg Beaters” ($2.50) , and frozen pepper & onions mix.  At home, I already had a bag of Costco-sized crumbled bacon, 2% shredded cheddar cheese, and hot sauce.  I scrambled the eggs with everything else but the cheese, then spooned into a cheese-lined tortilla.  I froze them, and I got 2 weeks worth  (10) of breakfast tortillas for the price of 4 singles of the South Beach variety.  AND, I estimate that the calories are actually about 30 lower than the South Beach wraps (which are 160 cals).

The verdict?  Next time, I’ll use fresh pepper and onions (the frozen ones water down the scrambled eggs a little too much to my liking).  And more hot sauce.  Otherwise, I have no complaints.  Was it worth the hour of effort?  Time will tell.

One Response to “Today is “For My Own Good” Day”

  1. Nashville is Talking » DIY Diet Wraps Says:

    […] Slarti is on the fast track to his goal weight and in doing so tried something new: I tried something for my own financial good last night. I had been eating a South Beach Diet Southwestern breakfast wrap every morning for breakfast. At $3 bucks a box (contains 2), this makes for some expensive breakfast. So, last night, I decided to assemble my own. […]


Leave a Reply

