Calling All Cars!

OK, I’m going to date myself here (and I’m a cheap date).  Do any of you long-time Nashvillians remember an obscure talk show that was on at night on WTN, long before Gaylord owned the station.  In fact, I think this the period when the station was in bankruptcy, as George Plaster never lets us forget.

Anyway, the show may have been the most unique I ever heard.  It was hosted by a retired police officer, and various aspects of crime, law enforcement, and other law and order subjects were discussed.  The show also did something fascinating: twice an hour, a police dispatcher would break into the broadcast, and tell all the current calls the police were on.  They made it sound like a real dispatcher’s call.  Believe it or not, it was compelling radio.

It was the coolest thing ever to my 2nd shift working, young adult mind.  I miss it.

 Does anybody remember what the name of the show was, and who hosted it?

4 Responses to “Calling All Cars!”

  1. Nashville is Talking » Reach On Back Into The Recesses Says:

    […] Slartibartfast needs help remembering a new defunct radio show: Do any of you long-time Nashvillians remember an obscure talk show that was on at night on WTN, long before Gaylord owned the station. In fact, I think this the period when the station was in bankruptcy, as George Plaster never lets us forget. […]

  2. Jason Says:

    Yeah, I remember that show… I used to listen to it as a kid… My dad was a cop, so it always interested me… I’d go and break out his police scanner after listening to that show….

  3. Short and Fat Says:

    I remember the show, but can’t think of the name.

    It was some play on words, with the hosts name, something along the lines of “Long Arm of the Law” or something like that.

    So what I’m saying is…my memory is about as clear as yours.

  4. ceeelcee Says:

    I remember it, too. RUABelle and I were driving up to Sewanee one night when we heard the dispatcher dude update with a call for a break-in on our street. That was disconcerting, considering we’d been robbed twice in a year.

    It wasn’t us that time.

    Could it have been called something like “Police Calls?”

    Now I’ll be up all night trying to remember that one.


Leave a Reply

