The Tao of Micheal Bolton

This is one of those things which causes the males of the universe to ask me to turn in my man card.  I can actually tolerate Micheal Bolton.  Oh, in public, I’ll show disgust whenever his name comes up, like a good man.  But, his tunes pepper my playlist in the Ipod.

“Pepper my Playlist” – sounds like a gameshow.  Or a marital aide.  But, I digress.

Where was I?  Oh, yeah, Bolton.  MB is kind of like white beans and cornbread for me.  It’s great to imbibe every now and then, and probably best on a Friday night, with hot sauce.  My two favorite Bolton songs are his remake of “Dock of the Bay” (when I first heard this with the Neil Schon guitar solo), it was the first time I had ever heard MB.  I screamed to my brother: this guy ROCKS!

Let me let that sink in.  I wasted precious ROCK! screaming energy on Micheal Bolton.  But, it was his first release, who knew?

But there’s another song, from the album “Soul Provider”, which is so good, I never hit nexton the iPod when it comes up in a shuffle.  “Back on My Feet Again”.  I really, REALLY love that song.  With just a few words, and MB’s agony-strained voice, it wallows in wretchedness and rejoices in hope at the same time.  Do you know how hard it is to write lyrics that do that?  Here’s how it begins:
Gonna break these chains around me
Gonna learn to fly again
May be hard, may be hard
But I’ll do it
When I’m back on my feet again

Soon these tears will all be dryin’
Soon these eyes will see the sun
Might take time, might take time
But I’ll see it

When I’m back on my feet again

I would LOVE to sing this in a church setting, or better yet, at Cumberland Heights.  Anyway, that’s not what I wanted to talk to you about.

I thought of that song this morning, because on the laptop front, I hit rock bottom, and the last day or so has been spent getting back on my feet again.  It’s a long story, but I was able to keep the Toshiba alive long enough to transfer all the important files and settings.  I got an incredible deal on a Gateway (don’t start!), and I’ve been working to get the functionality I had in the Toshiba, then slowly reinstalling some of the extra goodies.

I’m not there yet, so if I haven’t sent you an email I owe you, for once it’s probably due to technical difficulties.  But, as the great one said:
Gonna break these chains around me
Gonna learn to fly again
May be hard, may be hard
But I’ll do it
When I’m back on my feet again

So, ya’ll hang in there.  I’ll be back on my feet again in a couple of days.  And it will be sweet!

4 Responses to “The Tao of Micheal Bolton”

  1. Nashville is Talking » Why Should I Change My Name? He’s the One that Sucks! Says:

    […] No comment: This is one of those things which causes the males of the universe to ask me to turn in my man card. I can actually tolerate Micheal Bolton. Oh, in public, I’ll show disgust whenever his name comes up, like a good man. But, his tunes pepper my playlist in the Ipod. […]

  2. rick Says:

    please tell me what group did bolton originate from?

  3. rick Says:

    please settle a dispute between my g/f and i … i say M. bolton was a back -up singer w/ a group …..she sez he was an original singer on his own….i beg to differ.

  4. Slartibartfast Says:

    rick, Bolton was in a “backup band” in the 70’s (even played with Ozzy Ozborne!), but he was first and foremost a songwriter.

    They’ve got a good writeup on him at WIkipedia.


Leave a Reply

