Mowing The Lawn In B Flat

I don’t use the Ipod when I mow the lawn, for a couple of reasons.  One, the lawn mower is so loud, it ruins the music.  Two, lawn mowing time is my “cave” time, when I retreat into myself and think things through.  Many times, I’ll create parts of a sermon or a blog post.

I have an acre lot, on a steep hill, and a push mower.  So, it takes a while.  Therefore, I can totally work through at least 3 trains of thought.  I just noticed something tonight, that I swear is so bizarre, they should have me committed. 

You see, I have a  musical mind.  So, in the background of my thoughts, music is “playing” behind the “spoken” word, kind of like a William Shatner album.  It’s usually classical or jazz.  As I change trains of thought, the music changes to the overture, which is always the same.  A guttural chant, to the tune of Judas Priest’s “Breaking the Law”…

Mowing the Lawn , Mowing the Lawn. Dah, Dah! Mowing The Lawn, Mowing the Lawn!

So here’s a pretty standard transition during my thoughts when pushing the mower.  Let’s say I’m finishing up a sermon, then starting a blog post in my mind.  It would sound in my head, something like this:

…And now, dear brothers and sisters, let us vow to carry on the work of Jesus, by loving our neighbors as ourselves.  The Holy Spirit will help us in this task.  Amen.

Mowing The Lawn, Mowing The Lawn! Dah, Dah! Mowing The Lawn, Mowing The Lawn!

Have you ever wondered what a chicken really acts like with its head cut off?

It’s really funny to me, because the music in my head to the serious thoughts is aways so beautiful, then Judas Priest invariably kicks in.

Weird.  I never really put it all together, till today. Everybody sing it with me!

Mowing the Lawn!  Mowing the Lawn! Da, Dah!

4 Responses to “Mowing The Lawn In B Flat”

  1. Lynnster Says:

    Oh thanks. now I’ll have that earworm for days.

    Even worse, I’m hearing it in my head as Beavis & Butt-head doing “Mowing the Lawn!” to “Breaking the Law!”

    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh……….

  2. Kathy T. Says:

    Yeah, I’ll have “Mowing the Lawn Mowing the Lawn” in my brain all day, too. Thanks a lot! And I have seen a chicken with its head cut off and it’s bizarro. It doesn’t die right away … at least the body keeps moving by flapping around all squawkless until it keels over. Nasty stuff. Killing the Chicken, Killing the Chicken Dah Dah!

  3. jagadiah Says:

    Ok, so I’m not the only person who composes blog posts in her head when faced with monotonous tasks. Thank goodness.

  4. Kate O' Says:

    That’s hilarious. I have similar random mental musical segues.


Leave a Reply

