Bob, I Understand, But HAVE YOU LOST YOUR MIND???

Bob Krumm has decided that it’s important that we know the name of the accuser in the Duke Rape CaseChris Wage is appropriately outraged (but for the wrong reasons). 

Few people in the Nashville area know more about this case than me.  It’s been an obsession of mine since the charges were first leveled, and I was privy to much evidence that was known in Durham, but went under the radar here in Nashville.  I had close contact with someone in the court system in NC, and she told me what she legally could.  I know what I’m talking about when it comes to this case.

Now, I commented at Bob’s place, gently rebuking both Krumm and Wage, and giving my own thoughts.  But, Bob’s off doing Bob-Krumm-Work-Thingy-Stuff, and the comment is awaiting moderation.  I post it here in full, because I think there’s a very important middle ground between Bob’s Fry Her  attitude, and Chris’ It probably did happen, there just isn’t evidence attitude (OK, I exaggerate):

Chris,
One clarification. The AG in North Carolina went out of his way to value-add his statement. He did NOT say “there is insufficient evidence”, he said specifically “no crime was committed”. He even emphasised and repeated those words. If you’d like, I’ll link to his statement. He wanted to make it clear that “no crime was committed”. It’s an important distinction.

I’ve known her name for over a year. (I think I know more about this case than is healthy). That being said, I do not like the idea of vindictively throwing her name out there, for two reasons. One, she’s mentally ill (this has been documented, and confirmed by her family).

And two, she may have lied, but by being so vindictive toward her, we might be discouraging future [real] victims.It’s kind of like the first amendment: yes, we have to suffer idiots, but it’s for the greater good. So, let her hide behind the rape shield laws. The larger issue is too important.

She has her own demons to deal with. Mike Nifong is going to get his just desserts. The biggest injustice here is that Duke’s president still has his job, Nancy Grace has not publicly apologised, nor have the “community” leaders, or the students, academics, and columnists who made the players’ lives a living hell.

What we had here (and I’ve known this for a long time), was a dispute over payment, a mentally ill girl who cried rape to avoid the drunk tank, a prosecutor running for reelection in a minority district, and the usual biases inherent on college campuses in your various “studies” departments. The perfect storm.

I know it seems weird, but I find the accuser to be way down on the blame scale. Everybody saw what they wanted to see.

Leave her alone.

2 Responses to “Bob, I Understand, But HAVE YOU LOST YOUR MIND???”

  1. Nashville is Talking » Mob-Mentality Rage Says:

    […] Slartibartfast rightfully takes Bob Krumm to task for purposefully publishing the name of the woman …: Bob Krumm has decided that it’s important that we know the name of the accuser in the Duke Rape Case. Chris Wage is appropriately outraged (but for the wrong reasons). … I’ve known her name for over a year. (I think I know more about this case than is healthy). That being said, I do not like the idea of vindictively throwing her name out there, for two reasons. One, she’s mentally ill (this has been documented, and confirmed by her family). […]

  2. Vol Abroad Says:

    Yeah, I read Bob’s post and thought something similar. It made me a little queasy, but I don’t know all the facts of the case.


Leave a Reply

