Simple Joy

There’s a lot of stress, and dare I say it, pain in my life right now.  Some of you might think I’m ignoring you – and to be honest, I am.  But don’t take it personally, I’m just trying to de-stress.  If you have the luxury of entertaining yourself with “stimulating discussion of important issues”, more power to you.  I hope to join you in the lounge one day.

But my heart is troubled, and it doesn’t need any more strain.

This is where yesterday was so sweet.

Over the weekend (yes Easter weekend), I introduced my children to Monty Python and the Holy Grail.  Did you know it’s rated PG?  Anyway, it was an instant hit.  I think they’ve seen it 4 times since Friday.

You also need to know that one treat we give the children every now and then we get them a coconut from the Kroger produce section;  they eat the “white”, and, believe it or not, they like to drink the juice.

You probably know where I’m going with this.

Yesterday was a tough day.  The news just keeps getting worse and worse at work, and in the morning, I had an actual fight with Lintilla, over Otis.  She’s quite unhappy with his biting everything, and she’s not sleeping because he has to go outside quite a few times during the night.  Anyway, the kids must have sensed that we’ve been walking around with the weight of the world on our shoulders, and they’ve already figured out how to make everything better. Silliness.

Several times yesterday, Zaphod followed me around, banging two halves of a coconut together.  With practice, he even got the part where the “horse” slows to a stop.  We have video. 

It was silly.  It was sweet.  It brought my troubled heart a simple joy it so desperately needed.

I’m going to start spending 4 hours a night, catching up on my certifications.  From now till June, I have three jobs:  My day job, the band, and studying.  I’m going to be a real bitch for a while.

But at the same time, I’m working with my children on creating our own home version of “Deal or No Deal”.  My daughter (math genius) is working on a formula for the banker’s offer; she thinks it might be “average + 10 percent”.  We’re testing that by watching the show and observing the offers.

 UPDATE: Well, lookie, here.  Somebody’s already done the work for us.

It’s just another simple joy.  I think God may have sent them to me for moments such as this.

5 Responses to “Simple Joy”

  1. badbadivy Says:

    Finding pleasure in the simple things is the best way to hang on when it’s hard to hold on. If that sentence made any sense, which is might not.

  2. Katherine Coble Says:

    Deep discussions are sometimes for me a luxury and sometimes an escapist necessity. It depends on the company and the subject matter.

    But having been three months ago where you are now, I’d have to say that I think you’re probably best off just enjoying the simple things, because life is really big right now.

  3. hutchmo Says:

    exposing your kids to Monty Python and the Holy Grail is a joy in and of itself. It’s a movie with humor that will not be understood on some levels until they get older, but it can be enjoyed at pretty much any age of 5. Personally, my maturity level is right about eye-level with the killer rabbit and the holy hand grenade.

    Peace to you, Slarti.

  4. Lynnster Says:

    I was around their age the first time I saw Holy Grail on late night TV some weekend long ago. MP is the gift that keeps on giving. 🙂


Leave a Reply

