Billy Ray Made My Day

On a lighter note, I was touched, truly touched, by the backstory and performance of Billy Ray Cyrus on Dancing With The Stars last night.  I don’t know if he will survive tonight’s elimination (the Hannah Montana fans will probably keep him in), but he was part of what might have been the most touching moment ever on DWTS.

My first instinct was to think the whole backstory was contrived, until I saw the reaction of Billy Ray’s partner, Karina Smirnoff after their performance.  You can’t fake the joy that was just bursting out of her.  It was genuine, or I’m no judge of human emotion at all.

Billy Ray, in the taped intro, was fumbling through another rehearsal.  He just could not do the steps Karina was teaching him.  Bless his heart, he’s no dancer.  She finally had to step out (I thought to have a cigarette).  The cameras stopped outside of the ladies’ room, and you could hear her sobs from inside.  they cut to Billy Ray, and he said something to the effect of “She’s a world champion; it’s not fair she’s paired up with an oaf like me”.  His humility seemed truly genuine – I’m still convinced he doesn’t want to be on the show.

Well, his performance brought the audience to its feet.  It wasn’t great, but much better than he’s done in the past.  He totally threw himself into the dance.  Len commented that Billy Ray had put in more practice hours than any other dancer, and he gave him a score to reflect it.

Karina Smirnoff truly seemed surprised by how well her partner did.  The audience was going wild.  For once,the underdog was cheered for working his butt off to make up for lack of talent.  Go Billy Ray.

Clyde Drexler, on the other hand, doesn’t even seem to be trying.  I hope he goes next, followed by Leeza.

But, I hope Billy Ray continues to improve.  He’s this year’s Jerry Springer.  And I mean that in a good way!

Leave a Reply

