OK

Weird.  The turmoil at the Sirius Cybernetics Corp is even greater than I had originally thought.  The “cost containment” is going to be so widespread, that it doesn’t make sense for any of us to try to transfer to another area within SCC’s IT&S department – all other departments are cutting back, too. 

Yet, sometime within the next few months, one of the three of us will have find something, somewhere.  “You don’t have to go home, but you can’t stay here.”

So, I took the first, halting steps.  I started looking; I started with the web sites of some of the most stable employers in town.  An right off the bat, I found something that intrigues me.  The fit isn’t perfect, and it would be a pay cut for me, but anybody that knows the largest non-government employer in Nashville knows that the benefits are great and job stability can only be beaten by the State of TN. 

Like I said, the fit isn’t perfect, but I realized something:

I’m going to be OK. 

7 years programming/database experience, (5 years of Microsoft.Net), and 20 years general IT experience go a long way.  I’ve basically been “the man” in my department since its inception.  Unless my supervisor decides to lie (to keep me), I’m going to get a GREAT reference. (Plus my old supervisor, who comments here, will put in a good word as well (hopefully)  Funny thing is, she’s looking, too).

I probably won’t go for this particular job – it would be nice to stay in the same pay range, and things aren’t desperate yet.  But it’s comforting to know that it only took me 30 seconds to find a job I at least have a shot at.

I’m going to be OK.  What I need to concentrate on is making sure my co-workers are going to be OK.

8 Responses to “OK”

  1. Susie Says:

    Hey! Maybe we can just work full time doing harmonies for Music Row… 🙂

  2. newscoma Says:

    Please give me some of your karma and enthusiasm.
    And, incidentally, good for you.

  3. Katherine Coble Says:

    Yes, you’re going to be okay. I can’t even begin to go into the ways that God has had our backs over the last 3+ months. But I promise you that no matter what happens you’re going to be okay.

    And you are always in our prayers.

  4. john h Says:

    Slarti – at first I mis-read the paragraph about working with the state of Tn..and i’m thinking..SLARTI come to work with the state..whooohoooo, but then, I realized..i think you’re talking about a large school that some of us root for mightily.

    Anyway..you know we’re pulling for you. I do believe it’s going to be ok, but sometimes ‘ok’ has some interesting twists.

  5. newscoma Says:

    It’s journeys like this that appreciate what we have, but it still hurts.
    Damn journeys. But I think that’s what keeps us going from point A to point B.
    I’m on one myself.
    Sending you much good stuff right now, do what you need to do to heal (you will) and I’ll be thinking of you fondly.

  6. badbadivy Says:

    I don’t think Slarti’s talking about a big school, I think he’s talking about a company off M’boro road that manufactures computers. Right?

  7. Slartibartfast Says:

    Nah – since I’m not applying (yet), I can come out and say it’s with VUMC . Lintilla has worked for them (twice) on the clinical side, and besides one nutty boss, they were great.

  8. newscoma Says:

    Do they need a west Tennesse hack like myself?


Leave a Reply

