Kevin Carter: The Real Deal

Nashvillians (and PacMan Jones) would be very wise to listen to Kevin Carter.  This man is the real deal.  Here is a man who is a go-zillionaire athlete, who is still incredibly down to earth and just as nice in person as his public image.  He’s got a good head on his shoulders, and he’s not even vindictive – as evidenced by his many returns to Nashville for charity work.

Mr. Carter a few years ago was incredibly nice to my family.  He had heard about my brother and his fascination with the Titans.  Apparently, he liked my brother’s song entitled “Titans”, and he took compassion on Zarniwoop and his plight.  He arranged for Zarniwoop, Marvin and myself to go to a game (our seats were so close to the field, you could smell the cheerleaders’ perfume!), then he arranged for us to go to see the “Jeff Fisher Show” back when it was airing from Opry Mills.  This is a memory I will hold dear for the rest of my life.

As an aside, this was where I changed my opinion about John Dwyer.  I’ll be honest: on TV, Dwyer comes across as slick, in a used-car salesman kind of way.  Reality couldn’t be more different.  He was kind, polite, accommodating, went out his way to make sure we had everything we needed – all the while trying to get out a live broadcast.  I don’t forget a kindness, ever – and from that moment forward, I consider myself a Dwyer fan.  Too bad he has to get up so early in the morning now (unless, of course, he likes it).

Anyway, I hope Kevin Carter moves back to Nashville when his playing days are over.  Our city could use a man like him (shoot – I’d vote for him for political office, even if he ran as a Democrat!)

One Response to “Kevin Carter: The Real Deal”

  1. sistasmiff Says:

    A few Easters ago, I saw Kevin Carter at the Easter Brunch at Opryland Hotel with his family. He is SOOOO tall and (this is gonna sound stupid) but he has the darkest, prettiest, skin. I couldn’t keep my eyes off of him, he was so gorgeous. Funny thing was, I didn’t know who he was except he was a Titan, but, I was so impressed with how he responded to people who asked for autographs. He seems like a great guy.


Leave a Reply

