Broken Up Day

The kids get out of school early today.  They’re off tomorrow, and then again on Monday.  No, it’s not spring break, they’ve already had that.  There’s one thing about sending your kids to a Catholic school:

They sure take this Easter thing quite seriously.

I wonder why? 😉

Otis and Missy (boy, does that sound like a sitcom?) will be happy to see us.  Especially Missy, I think.  She’s a crotchety old Cocker spaniel, and you can tell by the looks she gives that she doesn’t appreciate playing nursemaid to a rugrat all day. 

Otis just wants to nibble on something.

I think you’ll find my disposition improving greatly over the next several days.  I’m getting plenty of good, restful sleep, Easter is the time that reminds Christians of our greatest joy, and I’m going to cut myself off from political blogs for a while – especially “level 1” discussions.

You might remember, there are three forms of philosophical discourse: Level one is high-theoretical, egghead discussion.  Aristotle, Plato, and all that,  Level two is the arts, which in the US usually means film, television and music.  Level three is person-to-person, “kitchen table” discourse.

One of the big rules I learned studying the writings of Ravi Zacharias was this: to be effective, argue at level 1, illustrate at level 2, and apply at level 3.

Many blogs, both philosophical and political, have a ground rule that the discourse must remain at level 1.  You might as well ask me not to breathe.  Maybe it’s because I’m older.  Maybe it’s because I’m a parent.  But, with every issue that comes before me, my mind quickly turns to, “How does this issue affect my life and those that I love?”. 

I have no time for (and pardon the phrase – I can’t think of a better one) mental masturbation: bouncing ideas back and forth simply as a mental exercise with no thought to how they apply to daily life.  If that’s your thing, fine – I’ve outgrown it.  If discussions cannot travel to levels 2 and 3, I cannot waste my time with them.

I have practical reasons for discussion of race issues.  I do not know what it’s like to raise children of color.  There are issues I face as a parent of Asian children, that I am “winging”.  It’s kind of scary.  Most of what I learned about parenting came from watching my own parents raise my brothers and me.  Well, there are issues that have and will come up with my children that my parents have no clue how to deal with.

So, I spend a lot of quiet time racked with doubt.  Am I doing it right?  There’s no one to tell me.  That’s why I need my “web family” to help, to guide me in parental matters of race, especially non-white bloggers.  Unfortunately, because of the way people are conditioned, my status as “white man” causes a many to have their claws out before we can even strike up a friendship.  (Update: I am not guiltless in this regard – many times an offhand comment brings my white man claws out, as well) .  We argue, and I’m left hurt and just as confused as I was before the conversation.

I’ve gone far afield, as I’m wont to do.  My wife last night, asked me what was wrong with me.  Why was I so despondent, not eating, not talking?  What was I going to do, tell her that some person whom I had never met managed to get under my skin and hurt me to the core?  Sounds silly – so I just said “nothing, I’m fine”.

You know what?  It’s just not worth it.

So, it’s back to DaddyBlogging, recipes, blogging about my own weirdness.  I will remain clueless when it comes to raising children of color; no one wants to take discussions of race to that level.  God will show me the way (nobody else will).

I cannot languish in bitterness for long.  So, I will take myself out of those situations that cause bitterness.

So, I’m better now.

9 Responses to “Broken Up Day”

  1. nm Says:

    Level one is high-theoretical, egghead discussion. Aristotle, Plato, and all that, Level two is the arts, which in the US usually means film, television and music. Level three is person-to-person, “kitchen table” discourse.

    One of the big rules I learned studying the writings of Ravi Zacharias was this: to be effective, argue at level 1, illustrate at level 2, and apply at level 3.

    But for a lot of people, what you call “level 3” includes political involvement, attempts to change things, attempts to affect the larger community. It doesn’t always mean just dealing with issues as they play out in one’s own family, though it needs to mean that at a minimum.

    I think that you and Magni are talking past each other (and, inadvertenly, I’m sure, insulting each other) because you are making different assumptions about just what the “level 3” stuff means.

  2. Slartibartfast Says:

    Probably true nm.

    It’s gotten to the point that it’s doing more harm than good to fool with it. I want to take a break, at least during Holy week. I haven’t been very ‘Holy’ lately.

    BTW, I want to tell you how much I appreciate your comments here.

  3. Katherine Coble Says:

    hat’s why I need my “web family” to help, to guide me in parental matters of race, especially non-white bloggers.

    Remind me to discuss this after Holy Week, when I’m sober.

    Because I have thoughts on this.

  4. Slartibartfast Says:

    “Remind me to discuss this after Holy Week, when I’m sober.”

    This made my day 🙂

  5. nm Says:

    Yeah, KC, we’re the ones directed to drink this time of year, not y’all.

    Slarti, I appreciate the appreciation. And I’m not suggesting that you really need to have lots of political discussions right now. I just had a little lightbulb moment when reading your post, and thought I’d share it.

    Oh, and if you want to extend your web family a little farther, there are almost certainly on-line groups for white adoptive families of Asian children, which would probably help you out more than any of your usual commenters can on some of the nuts and bolts decisions you have to make about things.

  6. Katherine Coble Says:

    No no gang.

    I’m not drunk.

    I’m altered.

    Huge difference.

    Although look. There was a Holy Week pun. Get it. Alter-d.

    Ha. The alter-ed woman thinks she’s funny.

  7. Mack Says:

    Yeah, Kat, hard to imagine why your humor sometimes gets missed. 🙂

  8. Katherine Coble Says:

    Don’t be cross, Mack. It’s a really grave error.

  9. Slartibartfast Says:

    Maundy, Maundy. Can’t trust that day.

    I hope your Friday is Good.


Leave a Reply

