All Right Ladies, Listen Up

Because Sista reminded me about something I’ve been meaning to do for years, and to keep Aunt B from beating me with a hundred feminists, I’m going to start a new series here, aimed at men, about the joys of domestication called “Man Around The House”.  If it proves popular, I may even spin it off.  The first few posts will be an apologetic: why doing housework is manly and cool.  After that, I’ll get practical with the how-tos.

Now, here’s where we need to establish some ground rules.  I think I can convince your man to help around the house.  BUT, I have to ask, please, no matter how enthusiactic you are about this, do not undermine me.  Let me tell you what you can do to help:

  1. This cannot be “your” idea.  No man wants to be browbeaten into doing something.  And even pointing him to my blog, believe me, will be considered browbeating.  A better idea would be to “absent-mindedly” leave these posts open on your family PC.  Or something else sneaky like that.
  2. Please, for the love of Dudley Moore, do not point to me as an example of a “good man”.  Men hate that; besides, on many counts, they are better men than me.
  3. These posts will be man-to-man.  Do not be shocked if something I say “doesn’t sound like something Slartibartfast would say”.
  4. This is crucial.  When he does start helping, for Walter Brennan’s sake, get out of the way!  Please do not hover, and I’m begging you, don’t come along after him and “fix” what he just did.  Please, I’m begging you, if he loads the dishwasher differently from you, let it be!  Whatever he cooks, eat it gratefully – he did the same for you when you first got together.  He’ll get better.  I’ve seen WAY too many fights that started because she harangued him into helping, then criticized every little thing he did.  Please, please, please, be patient and understanding, and noncritical.

I’m actually looking forward to this.  It’s like male chauvinist Pygmalion.  Y’all can let me know via email if I’m getting anywhere. 

6 Responses to “All Right Ladies, Listen Up”

  1. nm Says:

    You need a caveat for #4, that says that if he puts the pots back into the cupboard with food still on them, you must wash it off before using them again.

  2. Ivy Says:

    🙂 My husband is the far better cook in my household!

  3. sbk Says:

    #4 is my version of “Don’t ever tell him he “did it wrong’ because you are only giving him the excuse to NEVER do it again!”

    I just want you to know that when my oldest girl child was a baby I would keep her dressed in her clothes that had been put on backward all day long. (The buttons go in the back on girl baby clothes.) There was no way I was going to indicate that daddy had done anything wrong when he had dressed her.

    The payoff was being able to start taking weekend trips leaving 2 children ages 1 and 2 at home with daddy because he thinks he can do all household things as well as I. Now THAT’s a man!

    I look forward to honing my huband training tatics with your insight!

  4. Home Ec 101 » Blog Archive » Friday Five Says:

    […] times fast! Heck, try saying it just once.) over at Shoot The Moose writes a post about how to get your husband to do some housework. More posts like this and he’ll get kicked out of the secret man club. He also teaches us how […]

  5. knitaddict Says:

    Ooooo, I SO need lessons on this topic! Apparently, I’m the woman who says, “Oh just give it here, you’re doing it ALL wrong!” Help me Obi-wan, you’re my only hope.

  6. TitoBoots Says:

    Hi!
    Free amateur huge tits movies!
    college girls tits


Leave a Reply

