Recipe: Slarti’s Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

Took me a while to find it, but here it is.  I wrote this recipe down while my mother dictated.  I think it’s correct; I usually “use the force” when I cook, but this will get you started. When I make it, I “cheat” a little and make some of the flour all-purpose.  I like the texture a little better.  If you’re a diabetic, go for the full monty with the whole wheat.   It’s still quite good.

2 to 2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour (for a better consistency, mix in all-purpose flour for at least 1/2 of the cups of the total)
1 package quick yeast mix
3/4 tsp. salt
1 cup warm water

2 tbsp oil of your choice

Mix all ingredients.  Add water or flour till consistency is like play-dough.   Grease pizza pan. I like this stuff.  Roll out crust (remember, it will rise), place in pan.  Bake at 400 degrees for 10-15  minutes, or until top of crust is “hardened’ enough to hold sauce and pizza toppings. 

Let crust cool for about 3-5 minutes, top, cook, enjoy.

If you like the mondo-thick pizza crust, ratchet up all ingredients by a factor of .5  (3 cups flour, 1.5 packages of yeast mix, 1.25 tsp salt, 1.5 cups water, 3 tbsp oil .  “pre-cook” crust 15 – 20 minutes before putting on toppings.

Note: I like my crust a little thinner, so I’ve never tried the bigger recipe.  If you try it, tell me how it turns out.

4 Responses to “Recipe: Slarti’s Whole Wheat Pizza Crust”

  1. brittney Says:

    Oooh, thanks! I love pizza, but have never tried to make my own crust. I can’t wait to try this.

  2. malia Says:

    tryin’ it tonight! I’ll let you know how it goes 🙂

  3. Nashville is Talking » Afternoon Delights Says:

    […] -Recipe: Slarti’s Whole Wheat Pizza Crust […]

  4. Cathy Says:

    Would like to try this recipe. It really sounds great. But do you know the nutrition info on this? Thanks so very much.

    Cathy


Leave a Reply

