I’m About to Bust

This journalism thing is hard. 

I’ve gotten my hands on some news, that on the surface appears to be just a little neighborhood zoning story, no big deal.  However, because of who’s involved, it taps into a much larger story that’s been reported in our city for over 15 years.  None of the local media know about it yet, or if they do they aren’t reporting it.  I have a bonafied “scoop”.

But my source is nervous, and wants me to verify things with one of the parties.  This worries me for two reasons.  1) The parties involved are extremely well-financed, and have in the past shown no reluctance to go to the courts, and 2) contacting one of the parties could endanger the deal, or force someone to release information to the press, thus ruining my scoop.

Dang.

As of this morning, my secondary contact, who has inside information with one of the parties has not gotten back with me.  I’ve known this information for almost a week now.  The story is written, sitting in my “drafts” on WordPress.  I don’t know if I’ll be able to publish the story today or not.

I’m not a journalist – I’m just playing one right now.  So, as a last-ditch effort, I’m involving you.  Especially Kathy T, whom I think could help most quickly.  Somebody answer this, please:

Is there a way to quickly, and officially verify that an offer has been made and accepted on a piece of property?

If I can get Metro confirmation, I’ll run with the story as is.  Then I can quit this serious journalism stuff and go back to blogging about Nashville Star and my family.

UPDATE: Lintilla is doing a little bit of sleuthing for me as we speak.  She’s attempting to get an unwitting confirmation (and no, she doesn’t have to do anything that would earn her beads).  I’d be lying if I said this wasn’t a load of fun, but at the same time, sitting on a story is no fun.  But we’re going to do it right, or we’re not going to do it.  Stay tuned.

UPDATE #2:  We got our confirmation!  Interestingly, Lintilla had a fascinating discussion with the head honcho of one one the parties, and I think I need to take a little time to compile this information into my post.  In fact, I’ll have to change the tone of the story.  I’m glad we waited for the confirmation.  So, you’ll have to wait a little longer!

6 Responses to “I’m About to Bust”

  1. newscoma Says:

    Good thought, Slartibartfast.
    She would be the one that would know how that works.
    Great thinking.

  2. badbadivy Says:

    Hey, I just talked to Kathy and she said the info is available and she can look it up for you, but she won’t be around til early afternoon. But she knows about your post and will get back with you. 🙂

  3. Slartibartfast Says:

    Thanks Ivy! This is driving me nuts because I’m at work and don’t have access to “Home email”.

  4. KC Says:

    Okay. I’m dying to know what this is all about. I keep checking back.

    The suspense is keeeeeling me.

  5. newscoma Says:

    Yeah.
    You buys are like Cary Grant And Rosalind Russell in one of my favorite movies of all time, The Front Page.
    *standing ovation*

  6. Kathy T. Says:

    Sorry it’s taken me so long to get to you!!! SORRY! SORRY! Shoot me an email with your question and I can dig around for you. On the MLS, when a house goes in to full binding, it shows up with “inspection” or “financing” next to it. If it goes to full pending, you won’t even see it on the MLS anymore. If it’s sold, I can look it up that way as well (or eventually on the tax record). Shoot me an email at kathy(dot)tyson(at)comcast(dot)net and I’ll reply ASAP. SORRY!


Leave a Reply

