Those Wacky Legislators

This is all I’m going to say about Stacey Campfield and his stunt legislation.

Each political party has a history of, shall we say, “colorful” personalities who are in positions of power; these are people who do or say outrageous things, and in the process hurt their own side.  James Trafficant. Bob Dornan. Cynthia McKinney. Pat Buchanan.

The cultural right in Tennessee can now add Stacey Campfield.

I must say that I understand the underlying context of what Mr. Campfield is trying to accomplish.  Our society for some time has assigned humanity to others based on some extremely subjective and ever-shifting criteria .  The ending of a pregnancy can be interchangeably mourned or viewed with relief, based on the wishes of the mother.  Much could be said on this (philosophically, without speaking of legislation).  But I’m afraid that’s impossible now. 

Make no mistake: Campfield’s stunt legislation has trivialised a very serious issue, poisoned the waters, and made any future reasoned discussion of this issue impossible for the foreseeable future.

I am furious.

Postlude: If you want to discuss my views above, fine.  But I won’t be drawn into a debate about them; like I said, right now the environment is too poisoned.  Plus, I haven’t been able to fully explain my position.  Just know that when I discuss these matters, it’s solely on a philosophical / moral plane.  I  propose no legislation whatsoever.

Update: I should further clarify that I usually try to resist posting on this topic, because I usually get my head bitten off, and I don’t like conflict.  My main purpose here is at once selfish and humorous:  I wanted to give Brittney at NIT every opportunity to use one of my quotes on air at News 2, depending on if they ask for a roundup this week.  I figured this issue gave me the best chance, and since I have a unique position, I took a chance and went for it.  I’m not being insincere, these are my views.  But make no mistake, one of my goals in life is to say something so profound that Brittney has no choice but to have to say ‘Slartibartfast’ and ‘Shoot The Moose’ on the air.  My guess: it’ll take four takes. 🙂

3 Responses to “Those Wacky Legislators”

  1. KC Says:

    Campfield’s stunt legislation has trivialised a very serious issue, poisoned the waters, and made any future reasoned discussion of this issue impossible for the foreseeable future.

    You seriously thought these waters weren’t poisoned enough already? Where exactly have you been able to come across much reasoned discussion of this issue immediately prior to Campfield’s buffoonery?

  2. Slartibartfast Says:

    Kat,
    That’s why I almost never post on the issue.

    However, I find that the right approach, and much patience, allows people to put their claws away and talk as human beings. All of us have more in common than not. Yet, some are just looking for a fight, and I have no time for such.

  3. newscoma Says:

    I’m one of those silly liberals.
    And yet …
    I come over here and I love your perspective. I don’t like getting my head tore off either, but I thought yours was a rational voice over at the NiT comments on this subject.
    So kudos to you.


Leave a Reply

